1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Show Me Your Projector Setup - Picture Thread

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Monkey Alan, Jul 11, 2005.

  1. Monkey Alan

    Monkey Alan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    I'm thinking of getting a projector and was wondering how you guys have it setup. Have you got really long scart/component cables running from front of the room to the projector at the back/ceiling or do you have all your equipment next to the projector.
     
  2. nero0410

    nero0410
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    11,593
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    southwest
    Ratings:
    +4,346
    I have all my equiptment running down one wall have have a 3 metre lead feeding the projector.

    I set it up on a shelf unit and put it away again when finished

    tris
     
  3. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +410
    I've got a through lounge and have a shelf unit across the middle as a room divider. On this is the PJ and all the source equipment and surround speakers. The screen pulls down in front of my bay window/curtains and as such forces a dark room for viewing. It works for my setup really well. the only downside so far is the back of the unit is a mass of cable even when using those cable management tube thingies...
     
  4. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +170
    I've got my projector on a back wall shelve with my DVD player and power.
    The only lead i've got from there is my optical 5.1 to my AV amp.
     
  5. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    Ceiling, 15m cables - DVI / component / s-vid / composite - just need VGA and I'd have a full set!...PJ :)
     
  6. Monkey Alan

    Monkey Alan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Thanks for the replys an keep um comin :thumbsup: , I still trying to decide which is the best setup to use. PJTX100 don't those long cables cause you problems, lose of quality ect?
     
  7. Crivens

    Crivens
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HS50 attached to ceiling (Vogel mount), with S-Video and power cable going along ceiling and down wall on (I think) about 15 metre cables connecting to my Technics unit (old but good enough with built in 5 disc DVD - good for LOTR extended versions, although not for the whole lot : is 6 *discs* all in :( ). Both cables held in one of those plastic storage thingies that stick to the wall. Looks good. Hi-fi is then connected to 5 speakers, with about (I think) 20 metres of cabling per speaker. Stuffed them tight against the wall, behind most furniture so is hardly noticeable. Should really connect these cables properly to the wall, but can't be arsed.

    Cheers
     
  8. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    Nope, the pic is so sharp you can cut paper with it - especially on component. Very clean, no funnies. DVI length was a worry but the Lindy cable works fine for me. Composite looks pants but that's just for aging VHS. S-vid looked surprisingly good, but don't really use that now...PJ :)
     
  9. Monkey Alan

    Monkey Alan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    ^Thats good to hear :smashin: . What I think I'm gonna do is get a 10m component cable to connect my dvd and a 10m s-video to connect my grundig sky box and xbox via some sort of switcher (not sure what though).

    Where did you get your cables from, I found this site but that seems too cheap to be true :confused: .
    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/CP003.html
     
  10. Crivens

    Crivens
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As it turns out I bought my S-Video cable from the place you mention above. Is actually this : IXOS XHV403-500 5m S-Video (just found invoice). Just remembered that it is actually 5 metres, not 15 (moved DVD unit nearer to projector). Quality is top notch. I browsed a bit on IXOS cables, and found they had really good reviews. If I remember rightly TVCables.co.uk delivered it within like 2 or 3 days. Good stuff.

    Cheers
     
  11. sbowler

    sbowler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +487
  12. Monkey Alan

    Monkey Alan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +39
    Finally some pictures :thumbsup: . I'm thinking of getting the AE700E but my wallets telling me to get a cheaper epson TW10H I've seen. But then I keep thinking about xbox 360 an HD an sky HD an want the AE700 but I've heard there is no difference between the 2 for dvd playback and pannys suffer from low brightness an banding? I don't know what to do,am I going to see a big difference in dvd playback between the AE700E an TW10H?
     
  13. Crivens

    Crivens
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well if you want HD then you need the Panny. The other one doesn't have the resolution.

    Cheers
     
  14. mikeaitch

    mikeaitch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Stoke
    Ratings:
    +55
  15. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,875
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +929
    Mine too is ceiling mounted with two 7.5 metre DVI leads (one spare for hdmi) and one 7.5 metre component lead. I have made a DIY ceiling mount to ount it as well, see picture of it here
     
  16. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +102
    My pj is ceiling mounted with 3 15m cables for componant running into the celing and then under the bedroom floor. They come down some trunking which was plastered into the far end of the living room wall and run in trunking behind the skirting board to the amp at the front of the room.

    Link to pics in my signature below :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...