1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should my TH-42PWD6 automatically switch aspects?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Maximumbaz, Feb 22, 2004.

  1. Maximumbaz

    Maximumbaz
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've been trying to get my TH-42PWD6 to switch aspect ratio automatically but I can't get it to work. I've been using an NTL digital cable box and Pace Twin freeview both plugged directly into the scart board on input 1 but there's no automaic switching.
     
  2. Andrew_B

    Andrew_B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is/can the NTL cable box be set to output RGB and if there is any setting to enable SCART control is it activated?
     
  3. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    and have you selected "Panasonic Auto" as the aspect ratio mode to start with???
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Liam, do any of your pannys actually switch? I've never seen it work, I thought it was a 'feature' which had yet to be implemented!! There is no option for scart control in NTL's menu, there is RGB of course. You just have the option of 16:9, 4:3 pan&scan, or letterbox.
     
  5. Andrew_B

    Andrew_B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +2
    Maximumbaz, I had been told that the aspect ratio switching via SCART on the 6 Series was a bit 'erratic'. You might want to take a look at the sticky 'automatic aspect ratio switching for plasmas' thread at the top. The plasma aspect ratio controller is now available in the Power Buys, and it will work with your display.

    One last thing, from what MAW says, it looks like your NTL box should be set to 16:9. Make sure the video out is set to RGB and not S-video, because I don't think pin 8 control is sent with s-video.
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Don't worry, 99% of NTL boxes only do composite (pal) or RGB. If s-video is an option, there will be no RGB option. Widescreen settings will still be there.
     
  7. lovegroova

    lovegroova
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +304
    Well, I use NTL with my PW6, hooked up via SCART and the aspect ratio switching works a treat. The NTL box is set to RGB 16:9 and the Panny to Panasonic Auto.

    The switching is not erratic at all and works fine when connected via a Trilogy 3 as well as a JS Tech RGB to S-video convertor (on the RGB output)

    Baz, try hooking up the NTL directly to the SCART board on the plasma, the Pace Twin freeview may be causing a problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...