Should I upgrage my AV32r

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by ralphmalph, Dec 19, 2006.

Tags:
  1. ralphmalph

    ralphmalph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +133
    Hello All fellow Taggers,

    I am thinking of treating myself this christmas and upgrading my Tag AV32r to either the 192 Dac or the 192 DAC and 7.1. I think the sound is great already so in your esteemed opinion is this a worthwhile upgrade or not I listen to mostly dolby digital and DTS films in 5.1

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. liam_b

    liam_b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wilds of north Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +25
    I'd get in touch with IAG first and find out exactly how much they want to upgrade your unit, it used to be about £600 for a 7.1 upgrade and another £500 or so for the 192k DAC upgrade and £199 extra if you unit has the 5.1 metal chassis. Considering that it will probably cost less to buy another unit which has 7.1 and 192k DACs then sell yours.
     
  3. ralphmalph

    ralphmalph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +133
    Hi, Thanks,

    The dac uprade is 595BP, they do a combined DAC uprade and 7.1 toether for 795 and I have to pay 199 for unit older than 18 months in either case.

    So really the question is is the 192 dac worth 595 + 199 as I can not see me using 7.1.

    Cheers,
     
  4. derekn

    derekn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +38
    :hiya: In your shoes I'd carry on saving my pennies and keep my eyes open for a DP - then sell your SP.

    Regards,
     
  5. scoobysti

    scoobysti
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +36
    i think these prices are massively outdated and overpriced, bearing in mind these where the prices 5 to 6 years ago when the tag technology was cutting edge and seemed reasonable, look at what you could get for the £1000 you would spend on upgrade,
    i know the tag still sound great, but there is some stiff competition out there now for a fraction of the price of the original cost of the tags :rolleyes:
     
  6. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,276
    Not good value. Wait for the 'next generation'. :)
     
  7. willbrink

    willbrink
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you know which DAC is in the Avr now?
     
  8. willbrink

    willbrink
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How current are those prices? I have an AVR32. I would consider the 192 dac upgrade, but don't care about 7.1. Being in the US, skipping would cost more and if my conversions are right, over 1k for the upgrade.
     
  9. ralphmalph

    ralphmalph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +133
    The prices that I quoted are from a quote from IAG that was less than a week ago.
     
  10. willbrink

    willbrink
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx. With shipping and such, not a cheap upgrade. The local dealer I go to has several AVR32's. If one were an upgraded version, I could simply do a trade up. Will have to check that out.
     
  11. liam_b

    liam_b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wilds of north Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +25
    willbrink, all factory made 192K versions say bp-192 on the front panel, for upgraded units the only absolutely sure way to know which DACs are inside is to remove the lid and read the printed code on the top of the chips, the 96K ones are AKM4393, the 192K ones are AKM4395.
     
  12. willbrink

    willbrink
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx for the info. Will check it out.
     
  13. ralphmalph

    ralphmalph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +133
    Hi all, just taken the lid off my Tag. The Label on the front says AV32r sl and this is reapeated on the back. The Analog Devices Sharc is ADSP-21065L, then KS-264, then MDW 14396c-0.3.

    if I look at the circuit board with the front fascia facing me then about middle left there seem to be three DAC's all labeled AKM, then AK4395VF.

    So following on from the thread above I assume that I have an orginal 96khz DAC machine that has been upgraded to a 192Khz DAC machine at some time. As the DAC's are 192 but seeing as there is no reference to the bp-192 on the front.

    I had always wondered why I had manuals that stated that were for an AV32r bp-192. They must have changed the manuals when the DACs were upgraded.

    Anyway if I am right in my analysis then this is a result as it was sold to me as a 96khz DAC machine at the appropriate price point.

    If someone can confirm that my reasoning is correct then I would be grateful.

    Thanks to all.
     
  14. liam_b

    liam_b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wilds of north Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +25
    For certain the AKM AK4395VF is the 192K DAC, of course it's completely obvious if you unit has the BP fitted, so your reasoning seems quite correct.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. enno

    enno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this mean that all BP units have 192 DAC's?
     
  16. liam_b

    liam_b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wilds of north Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Yes all BP units have 192K DACS.

    This is because TMA did something clever the DAC output, when the bypass is active the DAC chips going into a deactivated 'sleep' state with the output being high impedance, they're not disconnected by relay from the output line but the bypass is relay switched on to the output line, this way there is no switch in the output path of the DAC. Only the AK4395 can do this, the earlier AK4393 doesn't have the facility.
     
  17. enno

    enno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So to your earlier comment ->
    could be added that having the BP is also a sure sign of having 192K DAC's....
     
  18. liam_b

    liam_b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wilds of north Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Enno, that is my understanding too.
     
  19. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +217
    you could get the 5.1 bypass without the 192 Dacs :thumbsdow

    AV32R 5.1 unit Bypass upgrade without 192k DACs excl shipping £685
     
  20. canavan

    canavan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    AV32R 5.1 unit Bypass upgrade without 192k DACs excl shipping £685

    If the old price list I have here is to be trusted, that's probably the upgrade price to get the bypass fitted in units that do not yet have the 192kHz DACs, but the DAC upgrade is included. It listed as 999 for 5.1 and 1099 EUR for 7.1 units.
     
  21. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +217
    see what you mean :confused:

    maybe steve/udo may reply with the answer
     
  22. liam_b

    liam_b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wilds of north Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +25
    The information I had from the old TMA forum said that you could get the 192K DACs without the bypass but not the bypass without the 192K DACs unfortunately I can't find the original post amongst the ones that I saved from the old days.
     

Share This Page

Loading...