Question Should I upgrade my amp to power Tannoy revo DC6T SE's?

Dcurran87

Novice Member
Reaction score
First time poster here guys, I'm relatively new to all of this and have found this forum a very good source for useful information so thank you!

Now, I recently scored a good deal on a pair of mint condition Tannoy Revolution DC6T-SE speakers (£250!), they have replaced my Mercury V4's.

I'm currently powering them with my Marantz PM6006. Everything sounds good, however, once I push the volume up the amp clicks off where I assume the amp's circuit protection kicks in.

The amp is 45w per channel at 8 ohm where the speakers can take up to 200w. The circuit protection kicks in at about 40% volume. This volume is pretty loud but I feel the speakers have much more to show if they had the right amount of power behind them, even at lower volumes.

So my question is to you guys with way more experience than I do. What would you consider a good amp to power these speakers? My budget is around £5-600 and it must have a built-in phono and DAC as I also have it hooked up to my turntable and smart TV.

I'm currently looking at the Cambridge Audio CXA60 (CXA80 if I can get a good deal) or a Yamaha AS701. I've no experience with how these would compare to the PM6006?

Any tips or advice would be much appreciated.

Relatively easy for the Marantz to drive at 88dB sensitivity and if under strain I would expect clipping rather than a safety shutdown. How much ventilation does the Marantz have? Check all the wiring to the speakers, no strays touching the body of the amp?

I'm moving this to HiFi Stereo Systems as it's more suitable.

Relatively easy for the Marantz to drive at 88dB sensitivity and if under strain I would expect clipping rather than a safety shutdown. How much ventilation does the Marantz have? Check all the wiring to the speakers, no strays touching the body of the amp?

I'm moving this to HiFi Stereo Systems as it's more suitable.