Should I upgrade my 5.1 setup to a 5.1.2 or 7.1 setup?

5.1.2 vs 7.1

• Total voters

JimmyCC

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello I am new to AV Forums and was looking for some advice.

I recently purchased a 5.1 surround sound package with two dali zensor 5 floorstanding speakers, two dali zensor 1's for the surround, the dali zensor vokal and the e9 subwoofer (I think that's what it was called) I absolutely love the kit and it is all hooked up to my denon avr-x2200w.

My denon now has two spare speaker inputs that I could use to make my setup a 7.1 so have the back surround sound or I could use it to create a 5.1.2 with two up firing dolby atmos speakers. The room is large enough for a 7.1 speaker and my ceiling is flat so could work with the dolby atmos up firing speakers.

If money wasn't an issue, as someone may say decent up firing speakers are more expensive, what setup would you say is better overall? I know it might not be a straightforward answer as it also depends what you're watching and if it supports dolby atmos etc. But any help or opinions would be much appreciated thank you :)

I think I recall someone from THX on the AVforums podcast talking about this, and they advised to get the 7.1 right first before moving to over heads. May be worth having a search for it as this very question was discussed....

OK that's brilliant I'll go see if I can find that video now, thank you for the tip :)

Do you have space behind your sofa for the rear surrounds to diffuse their sound properly? i.e. it is not against the rear wall.

Hi yes there's about a meter and a half space if that's enough? I looked up Fulllupos recommendation to watch the video and they say get a good 7.1 setup before looking any further so think I'll be going with that

Whilst I would probably advise getting a 7.1 setup too the only thing I will say is that I believe that the Denon AVR-X2200W is only a 7 channel amplifier. It can therefore support either a 7.2 setup or a 5.2.2 setup.