Should I turn off one Firewall?

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by clanline, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. clanline

    clanline
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry if this is a stupid question!
    I installed Kaspersky anti virus suite today (see posting below) and it has been running a scan since about 7 this morning(6 hours or so) and has now scanned 58,000objects.
    The suite has Firewall but I also have Windows Firewall running.
    Should I disable one of them?
     
  2. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    It's not normally a good idea to have 2 firewalls running. What OS do you have? XP? Vista? 7?
     
  3. clanline

    clanline
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello,
    XP
     
  4. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Yeah in that case disable the XP firewall and use the Kaspersky one.
     
  5. clanline

    clanline
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks very much.
     

Share This Page

Loading...