Should I try and swap my Panny TX28PB50 for the 32" version ??

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Boozyuzi, Oct 23, 2002.

  1. Boozyuzi

    Boozyuzi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +35
    I know the answer is going to be yes !!

    The longer I have the 28" the more the geometry is starting to bug me. I don't think there is a vertical line on the TV that is straight. The top of the screen bends to the left and I am getting a slight bow effect on Sky banners.
    I thought I could live with all this but now it's really starting to bug me.

    I am getting an engineer sent out over the next few days and if he can't fix it then I may try and get it swapped.

    Should I swap it for the 32" version (£300 dearer) as I don't think it has as many problems ?
     
  2. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Yes.
    (.....but make sure the engineer optimises your new set.... )
     
  3. Orson

    Orson
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sunny Ilson, pride of Derbyshire!
    Ratings:
    +670
    Boozyuzi

    We meet again!

    I've just updated the other thread saying I'll post my settings tomorrow (thurs 24).

    As for this thread, you know my opinion, I'm still happy with my 32" (ooer) & it looks like I'll keep it - although I think i'll have to give the service menu a little tweak :devil:.
    I did take some photo's of the geometry on my 28", & if I could manage to upload them somewhere, I would, as I think they would cheer you up no end. They really were appalling, although I did manage to improve them a bit. Another problem I had was the overall picture quality - I had to have the colour set to almost full to make it look anything like - it was best illustrated by using the picture and picture setting, showing the 2 images side by side, and then tuning both pictures to the same channel. The difference in picture quality between the 2 was amazing, and of course, the primary picture was the dud :rolleyes: . This was the same on all 3 sets I had - what is it like on yours? On the 32" both images look the same.

    BTW, Empire are doing the 32" for £999 + delivery - cheapest I've seen it at.

    As I said, I'll post my settings & you can see what you think.

    Cheers.......
     
  4. Boozyuzi

    Boozyuzi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +35
    Hi Orson, thanks for the reply.

    I have only had the occasional play with the PAP's :eek: and the main picture wasn't as good as the 2nd one. I am more bothered about the bad geometry. I have had a little tweak with the service menu but I can never seem to get it right so I have now put it back to how it was.
    Empire Direct are going to send an engineer out shortly but they said he wasn't a "Panasonic" engineer - just a local one. So I ain't too confident.
    I will be curious to see your settings compared with mine because I am amazed that Panasonic put my TV out set up the way it was. Were the settings the same on all 3 of your tellys ?

    It's a shame coz its a nice neat TV with great sound that solves the problem of surround sound if you want your TV to sit in the corner of your room.

    thanks.
     
  5. Orson

    Orson
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    3,289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Sunny Ilson, pride of Derbyshire!
    Ratings:
    +670
    Better late than never.......

    Thought I'd put the settings here as this is your thread.

    I've got the settings for 2 sets, which are more or less the same. Where there are differences, I've shown the second set in brackets. Here goes:

    H-POS 110
    V-POS 85 ( 58)
    H-AMP 48 ( 56)
    V-AMP 128 (127)
    Parabola 34 ( 36)
    Trapezoid 125
    H-Parallel 10
    V-Linear 34
    Top Corner 20
    Bottom Corner 20
    VS Correct 11
    C Correct 7
    DAF Phase 195

    RED GREEN BLUE
    HIGH 0143 0118 0128
    LOW 0278 0342 0384

    Sub-Bright 156
    Video Gain2 167 (202)

    There you go. What i havn't done yet is have a look at the settings on the 32", so there's something for the weekend for me :D

    Let me know how you get on.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice