1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I renew my Norton 2004 Subscription?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by SuperOxford, Jul 27, 2005.

  1. SuperOxford

    SuperOxford
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    According the website this will cost £21 but you can get the 2005 version for less than that. Not heard good things about that though

    Thinking about scrapping Norton altogether and getting BitDefender instead plus a firewall prog as dont think BitDefender includes a firewall.

    What is everyone else using?

    Suggestions would be appreciated

    Thanks
     
  2. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    From a personal point of view I loathe Norton. It's a real pain to set up, prevents a number of programs from functioning correctly and completely dominates the computer.

    I use AVG Antivirus (free) and am behind a hardware firewall so don't use software currently although have used Zonealarm with some success. :)
     
  3. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,388
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,235
    Another thumbs down for Norton. You can have a perfectly good, fast running and healthy PC, then you install Norton and it turns into a pile of crap. Slowdowns, errors etc etc. No PC of mine or works will ever have a Norton product anywhere near it.
     
  4. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    norton = :censored: as far as im concerned and i bet im not the last person to say that. biggest system hog ever when you can get better and free Virus scanners & firewall's
     
  5. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +527
    Are there any other off the shelf products that you would recommend instead?
     
  6. Miyazaki

    Miyazaki
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    14,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +849
    Sorry to hijack this thread a little, but in responce to eviljohn's comments about his hardware firewall...

    I have a netgear router, which has a NAT and SPI firewall. I don't have it configured, i don't know how to, unless it is automatic. Would I need another software firewall on top of that?

    cheers.
     
  7. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,241
    I don't know what you're all moaning about, it's great protection. :thumbsup:

    It has literally saved my Office desk from numerous coffee-mug type attacks.....
     
  8. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,922
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,241
    your netgear FW is one of the best out there... just turn it on, that's it.. :smashin:
     
  9. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    well Hardware firewalls only really protect/block incoming traffic. so its handy to have a SW firewall to monitor what is outgoing. myself i only use my HW firewall on my Gaming PC as im only using Games. on the laptop via wireless i use a few programs etc so i use Sygate to monitor what is coming in and out. its free and the best firewall as well :thumbsup: strange to see people liking zonealarm i think that is a pile of poo as well but thats just me. for virus use AVG free. why pay for something you get perfectly free. the main thing is stay safe on the net and there is no need to use these programs ( by safe i mean no dirrrrty stuff ;) )
     
  10. spocktra

    spocktra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    worcester
    Ratings:
    +40
    AVG and zone alarm here as well .Norton was sapping too many resources.
     
  11. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Generally you have to go out of your way to disable the firewall by opening ports or simply putting your computer into the DMZ (demilitarised zone) so you should be fine. As has been mentioned, hardware is excellent at stopping intrusions but not so good at checking outgoing connections which software is generally good at. I do find the Zonealarm interface a real PITA so I'd be pleased to hear about alternatives.

    Also be sure to use Firefox as your main web browser, not Outlook for email and generally keep everything up to date. :)
     
  12. Dr Diversity

    Dr Diversity
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am going with the flow here. Since installing broadband we have ZoneAlarm (free edition) on the networked PCs, hardware firewall via the BT Voyager 205 ASDL modem. We have run AVG free edition for a good few years and, so far, nothing has got in. Nothing fancy in the PC hardware (P3 500 is the best) and no noticeable slugging of resources.

    Norton? Never needed it.
     
  13. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    24,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Deep in the bowels of sussex where the angloargies
    Ratings:
    +1,766
    nom wonder my pc has been behaving c#*p I.ve been using norton for the last 18 months. Do they still make motorcycles
     
  14. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +533
    download the free version of avg and then de-install all of Nortons bits and bobs.

    Been using AVG for over a year on my desktop and laptop with no problems.

    If you need a firewall the free version of sygates does a pretty good job.

    Dal
     
  15. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,850
    Another convert to AVG free here. Norton is bloatware and I avoid it when i can ! Unfortunately I have to obey instructions and have Norton on my work computer and that's the slowest of the lot.I have AVG on all 3 of my home computers and so it's saving me quite a bit in subscriptions.
    The only firewall I run is the hardware one in the router and the inbuilt XP firewall. I run Spybot/Adaware/Hijackthis regularly and haven't had a problem so far.
     
  16. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,893
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +533
    I have found since using Firefox and loosing IE i dont get any issues when i run spy bot or adaware, i was getting loads when using IE

    I think everyone should be using firefox as there default browser.

    Dal
     
  17. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,850
    Agreed - I forgot to mention that I now use Firefox !
     
  18. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Same here pretty much although even on my new install on this computer I had to block a number of cookies which were still getting into Firefox.

    Amongst many others that I've blocked I would recommend people blocking these:
    advertising.com
    com.com
    counter.hitslink.com
    doubleclick.net
    fastclick.net
    hc2.humanclick.net
    hitbox.com
    mediaplex.com
    servedby.advertising.com
    statse.webtrendslive.com
    w131.hitbox.com


    hopefully having that lot on this page won't make the Googleads go haywire. :rolleyes:
     
  19. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    24,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Deep in the bowels of sussex where the angloargies
    Ratings:
    +1,766
    Wewll Itried to download the avg 7.3 progrmme in fact its saved on my pc . When I tried to open it it asked for a licence number which apparently they sent to me via email . As they never asked for my address in the first placeI cannot see how that is possible/???
     
  20. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,511
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,850
    I think you probably downloaded the wrong version then. Be sure to download the free version.
     
  21. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
  22. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    24,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Deep in the bowels of sussex where the angloargies
    Ratings:
    +1,766
    I'm somewhat confused as I thought I was downloading a free programme- ie avg 7 for windows under "workstations"but just above the list htere is "avg trial version" implying paynment at some point or other.Anyway its saved but I cannot open until I get this blessed licence number
     
  23. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    LGS, the main page only really includes the version that you have to pay for. Go to the link that I posted and download the free version - they're different .exe files. :)
     
  24. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    24,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Deep in the bowels of sussex where the angloargies
    Ratings:
    +1,766
    Ok but where is the download button.There just seesm to be loads of links to pay versions :confused: :confused:
     
  25. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
  26. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    24,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Deep in the bowels of sussex where the angloargies
    Ratings:
    +1,766
    Okl I got it ( at tthe bottom)sorry bit slow this morning
     
  27. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Not to worry mate, it's about the only downside with AVG apart from a fairly poor UI. Worth the extra bit of hassle for a quality free scanner though IMO and who can blame them for trying to sell their wares before giving them away. :)
     
  28. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    24,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Deep in the bowels of sussex where the angloargies
    Ratings:
    +1,766
    Just trying to uninstall Norton now that seems to be stuck??Maybe #if I bounce this pc on thae pavement outside it might rectify itself( now why didnt I think of that before) :devil:
     
  29. la gran siete

    la gran siete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    24,771
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Deep in the bowels of sussex where the angloargies
    Ratings:
    +1,766
    Got there :smashin:
     
  30. PoochJD

    PoochJD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    10,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1,862
    Hi,

    Norton absolutely sucks, and I can't fault AVG Free Edition at all! It's always detected and safely removed any viruses floating around, and the updates tend to be as often as every 48 hours.

    AVG is free, and it works! Nuff said! :clap:


    Pooch
     

Share This Page

Loading...