Should I bother to upgrade ?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by zen200, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. zen200

    zen200
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current System:

    Coolermaster black case
    600 watt Corsair psu
    ASUS m2n32sli - deluxe wifi
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.8 GHz Processor
    4 gb ram
    zotac 8800gt 512mb card
    nvidia 6600 256 card
    lg dvd rw drive
    500 gb sata 2
    400 gb ide
    Sound Card ?

    Was thinking of buying this lot in replacement ?

    NEW AMD FX BULLDOZER QUAD CORE CPU 16GB DDR3 1333 RAM

    what do you all think ?

    Good or Bad or Have you any other ideas which are a similar price ?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  2. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,492
    Difficult to say without knowing your current CPU or what you'll be using it for.
     
  3. zen200

    zen200
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    oops

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.8 GHz Processor


    Just use it to play c&c and photoshop and web surfing and HD films and music.

    I have sources the above fleebay items for £190 now so even cheaper.
     
  4. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,492
    I would have thought your current processor is sufficient for most of that, photoshop is likely to improve and possibly C&C if it's a recent one.

    As to an alternative, consider an i3 processor or perhaps look at a different upgrade entirely such as a Solid State Drive.
     
  5. maddogb

    maddogb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,647
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +195
    one thing i would say to anyone considering upgrades is don't consider a mainboard that doesn't have at least the following, PCI-E v2 or 3, SATA 6GBs
     
  6. OFNEP

    OFNEP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    yes you will see the difference with bulldozer coming form Athlon, If you have the money go for it.
    Don't buy the ebay bundle its not a good value for money. The actual cost of the mobo and cpu is <£140 and 8 gig is more than enough for your use(roughly £40 for quality corsair ram). the most ram hungry application you are using is Photoshop and believe me 8 gig is enough for that. I have used photoshop to edit a few RAW files on on 4 gig machine and it was fine. 16 gig is overkill. also the ebayer seems to be using an unbranded ram be careful with those components don't hesitate to pay extra for a more reliable ram with lifetime warranty.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice