1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sherwood RVD-6095RDS Loss of memory pre-sets

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Alex Leary, May 28, 2005.

  1. Alex Leary

    Alex Leary
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have used the above model Audio/Video receiver for over 3 years until now, with no problem. In the last week it has lost all of the station and volume/bass/treble settings each time it's switched off. I've reset them 3 times, and left it in in standby mode for 3 nights, but as soon as it's switched off completely, all settings are lost.

    Is anyone aware of a reset, or an internal battery that may need changing ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. garyroboff

    garyroboff
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many receivers use a capacitor instead of a battery, and there may be a problem with your unit. Send an e-mail describing the problem to: Eugene@Sherwoodamerica.com (Gene runs technical services at Sherwood in Los Angeles) and he'll advise you on the probable cause and the best approach to repair outside the US. Good luck!
     
  3. Alex Leary

    Alex Leary
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for this. Had found your man on a Google search, and am hoping for a reply soon.
     
  4. maknight

    maknight
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Alex,

    I've had the same problem with my Sherwood amp, what was the resolution?

    Thanks
     
  5. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +242
    I have the same amp and suffer the same problems! If I have a power cut then I lose all my settings. I just leave the unit on standby all the time.

    Me needs a Denon!
     
  6. oatmeal

    oatmeal
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,635
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Home of the worst postal system in the world.
    Ratings:
    +15
    I also have now suffered an identical problem. There has always been power available to the unit (I've never unplugged it for more than fifteen minutes) but all pre-sets have gone.
    It's as if an internal battery has given up the ghost.
    Did anyone ever find a solution to this?
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I have an older Sherwood that does this. I've scoured the main board for a battery or a large capacitor, and never found one. I suspect that there is another board tucked away behind the front panel, but so far I've not had the time to look.
     
  8. garyroboff

    garyroboff
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you have the service manaual? If not, you can obtain one from Sherwood America, 13101 Moore Street, Cerritos, CA 90703, U.S.A. Eugene Chavez, service manager, (562) 741-0960 extension 115 or eugene@sherwoodamerica.com, can tell you where the capcitor is and can help diagnose your problem. Sherwood factory service is excellent in the USA, not sure about the UK.
     

Share This Page

Loading...