1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sherwood 6106 & Gale Sub problem

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Blunted, Oct 22, 2005.

1. Blunted

Blunted

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im a bit of a noob to all this AV capers, so go easy please.

Been happy enough with my uber-budget surround setup until now, when I decided to pick up a cheapo Gale sub to supplement the bass a bit.

Hooked it up, switched the sub to "Y" in the speaker setup menu, and I'm getting nothing through it. Not even the test tone. Tried it with my crappy old Sanyo stereo's Sub Out, and its working fine with that.

Can anyone offer any advice or point out something i may have missed?

Stupid q, but could it be because its Pro Logic 2 my amp is outputting from my xbox? My dvd player is broke, so I can't check it with DD.

Thanks for any help.

2. chedmaster

chedmaster

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    for pro logic 2 to produce bass through the sub you may have to set all speakers to small on the sherwood, it has pretty shoddy bass management! ive had 2 in my time.

3. Blunted

Blunted

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for the response, but no joy with all the speakers set to "s" either. Im thinking its time to start looking for a better amp.

4. Knyght_byte

Knyght_byte

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +599
    i have a 6106R........sub worked fine for me........altho im sure my 6106R only had Pro Logic, not PL2.......

you have plugged it in to the subwoofer ouput havnt you? not the input? (that amp isnt in my room atm so i cant remember for sure, but it does have ext inputs if i remember right...lol)........