1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharps new 5E Range - How Long?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Black Custard, Jan 22, 2005.

  1. Black Custard

    Black Custard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How long do you reckon it will be before Sharp decide that they have made a massive cock up by disscontinuing the 3E model and replacing it with the 5E

    The 5E having no HDCP compliant DVI socket makes it incompatible with Skys HD offering, and leaves the 5E range as a massive white elephant.

    Surely no manufacturer should be downgrading the connection compatibility that they are supplying on their latest models, instead they should be ensuring DVI and HDMI connectivity is a must.

    Someone should inform Sharp about this :rolleyes:
     
  2. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    This topic has been done to death, but here we go again!
    The plan was to have a family of units i.e 1E, 3E, 4E and 5E with the 5E being a lower cost unit. Unfortunately in the 32" size all the 3E and 4E models seem to have sold out. There are still 26" and 37" units around, I guess you wanted 32"?
     
  3. andya

    andya
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
    i think they will come back soon ,france germany e.t.c still have them and they come from the japan production line i think its because a new factory in spain has bee set up sp its cheaper than sharp getting them from japan anyway i here that the 32ga4e is available again
     
  4. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    The GA5 has not replaced the GA3 model although it does look that way. All 3 GA models (3/4/5) are of the same group and should have been on display to sell at the same time. For some reason the GA5 got delayed and by the time it got here, the GA3 and 4s were bought up. The GA5 was on the cards way before Sky made their announcement.

    If you're looking for another White Elephant, check out Sony's new 32", no DVI or HDMI.

    Richie.
     
  5. Freeloader

    Freeloader
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have just found a 37GA4E and purchased it - but dealers are all saying that they do not expect new stock of the 3 or 4 - they think these models are discontinued. :confused:
     
  6. Yaka

    Yaka
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,664
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +110
    where did you find it?
     
  7. Freeloader

    Freeloader
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sound & Vision 01204 861 861, but it was the last one they had in 37in.
     

Share This Page

Loading...