1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp, which one?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by stvn, Feb 6, 2005.

  1. stvn

    stvn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I have a doubt, since friday I have an Sharp AQUOS GA4 32" for testing and with the film King Arthur in DVD conected with the RCAs (no progressive scan), the image is not too good, the colours and details are rare and sometimes flick.

    ¿Its normal?.

    Another question. The price for GA4 is 2.577 Eur and for GA5 is 2.333. If i am in true, the only difference is that GA5 don´t have the DVI input but nothing else diffence. Is so important DVI to pay 244 Eur more for it?.

    Thanks
     
  2. MickyGee

    MickyGee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try a GA4 on DVI it will blow you away. Definate improvement over component.

    Prog scan will improve things though.

    Remember no DVi on a GA5 ...............................
     
  3. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    There a quite a few differences between the 2 and I posted them a while back. Go for the GA4.
     
  4. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Stvn,

    When you say connected through RCAs, do you mean Component input (3 video cables) or composite input (1 video, 2 audio).

    Richie.
     
  5. stvn

    stvn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI

    I mean composite input
     
  6. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Make sure you are using RGB, component or DVI. Short of a modulated RF signal, composite is the worst of the lot. It may be simply a matter of selecting RGB output in your DVD player and using a SCART lead into an RGB enabled SCART socket on the display.
     
  7. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Yep, agree with Ian. I'm guessing you don't ahve component as you don't have Prog Scan (They seem to go hand in hand) so the least you can do it connect via SCART and enable RGB on the DVD player and on the input to the TV. Remember that on;y inputs 1 and 3 on the Sharp can receive RGB. Input 2 cannot.

    As an alternative, try connecting the DVD player to the Sharp by an S-Video lead. RGB Scart and S-Video are nearly the same PQ (Which one is better depends on the system) but S-Video is better than composite.

    Richie.
     

Share This Page

Loading...