sharp tur160 recording problem!!!

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by dbrad, Jan 30, 2009.

Tags:
  1. dbrad

    dbrad
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    audenshaw, manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi
    i have the above pvr but have a problem, the signal strength is 60% out of 100% on most channels and a quality pic, but when i try to record something it comes up with 'signal strength too weak!!' i have done software updates tried an attenuator to no avail its a new aerial and wiring, i have recorded on the pvr in my old house but im sure its not the signal thats the problem, any ides anyone???

    cheers
     
  2. clemenzina

    clemenzina
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,542
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    SW London
    Ratings:
    +135
    For starters, tell Wolfbane your postcode and they'll tell you what sort of aerial you need:

    UK analogue TV reception predictor

    And someone else may come along soon and help.

    clemenzina :)
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,733
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,310
    I suppose it's possible that - as this is a twin-tuner device - the tuner being used for "live" reception (and what you are seeing when you look at the strength/quality measure) is performing better than the other tuner used for recording. This may be a matter of marginal signal and slightly different sensitivities, or it may be that the second tuner has become disconnected from the aerial (is it external on this box?) or has deteriorated/broken in some other way. Possible explanation, but not necessarily very helpful, I guess.
     
  4. nvingo

    nvingo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +717
    Yes the Sharp PVRs are Vestel hardware, which have four aerial sockets, input to tuner one, passthrough (out and in) to tuner two, and TV out from tuner two.
    If during the move the passthrough loop was disconnected (or incorrectly re-connected), there lay your problem.
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...