1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp LCD TV - Which is Sharpest ?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by dakara, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. dakara

    dakara
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everybody,
    I am buying a Sharp LCD TV,either the LC32P50E, or the LC32GA6E, but may stretch to the 37 inch models.
    I watch NO terrestrial TV, nor any SKY TV, just what I can pick up from satellites and the BBC five, plus DVD's.
    For economic reasons I intend to keep the TV until it expires. My last Panasonic Prism lasted 15 years,but is now failing, so I need to be as future-proof as possible.
    Can any kind person please advise me which one I should choose.
    Regards, Dakara
    :lease:
     
  2. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would definately go for the GA6 as this panel is HD ready. The P50 is only HD combatable with a resolution that matches the pal signal. Whilst this will be great now I think you would regret it later on.

    The GA6 is much more future proof, in a few years HI-DEF stuff will be much more common. If your into games then the Xbox 360 will look fantastic.

    I myself am picking up a 37" GA6 this Tuesday, I will post a review and some pics later next week.
     
  3. dakara

    dakara
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Jerkyboy,
    it looks as though I will, just as I feared, have to stretch my budget.Just the sort of advice that I was looking for. Looking forward to getting your reports
    Dakara :clap:
     
  4. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I love the Sharp stuff, I have had a 30" model for a couple of years and I love it.

    I am very, very fussy when it comes to picture quality. I went through about 7 CRT TV's each having different problems before I decided on my LCD. The picture quality still blows me away.

    I have been waiting ages for this new range of Sharps, and the GA6 is definately the one to go for. I originally planned to get the GD7 but bizzarly this has had quite a few features removed, the GA6 is cheaper and rammed with features.

    Roll on Tuesday !!.
     
  5. manzee

    manzee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What does the GA6 have that the GD7 doesn't?
     
  6. VILLAn66

    VILLAn66
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    Messages:
    605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hi Jerkyboy

    I would be very interested in hearing your comments on the GA6 as I am looking to purchase a new screen very soon. I am 50/50 whether to go for LCD or plasma though as I have been studying the plusses and minuses of each.
    37" seems to be in the 'middle ground' where both technologies shine. From what I have read so far, 32" and below... go for LCD, 40" and above... go for plasma.
    Have you looked at plasma at all?

    Russ.
     
  7. Sledge

    Sledge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was told Tuesday as well but have since been told 2nd week of October. Been waiting soooooooooo long for this panel...
     
  8. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I think you mean this the other way around?
    The GA7 has a digi box built in. this I believe is the only difference between the 2, oh and I think the GA7 has some Loewe involvement.
     
  9. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Are you sure it's HD Ready ? There isn't a HDMI or DVI connection on the GA6 so can't be classed as HD Ready.

    From what I've heard Sharp are bringing out new LCDs that have HDMI on them. One of these would be the TV to get to be fully future proof.

    Richie.
     
  10. Sledge

    Sledge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The GA6 has an HDMI input.
     
  11. Sledge

    Sledge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems Sharp pulled their finger out and my set is out for delivery today.

    EmpireDirect.co.uk have them in stock (Had to use them as insurance claim)
    rgbdirect.co.uk also have stock and are £40 cheaper.
     
  12. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    I've had a look on the Sharp website and all it says for the LC32GA6E is a 15 pin D-Sub which is VGA isn't it ?

    Terminals

    Input 1 SCART (AV input, RGB input, TV output)
    Input 2 SCART (AV input/output, Y/C input, AV Link)
    Input 3 S-VIDEO (Y/C input), AV input
    Input 4 RCA pin (component)
    Input 5 D -sub 15pin, 3.5mm jack (Audio)
    Output Audio (Variable/Fixed) out

    Empire Direct doesn't have anything saying HDMI either.

    Richie.
     
  13. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    I've asked this before and was told that the website is incorrect. I suppose we'll have to wait until some can see the GA6 in the flesh.
     
  14. Sledge

    Sledge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I spoke to sharp weeks ago and they confirmed it had an hdmi connection.

    I'm now looking at the 37" model and it has.... you guessed it... an hdmi connection as well as a VGA port.

    Just need to get a dvi to hdmi cable to test I can use 1:1 for my HTPC.
     
  15. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Fair enough, thought it was strange they'd bring out a new range without digital inputs.
     
  16. jonandjen

    jonandjen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Jerkyboy,

    Its Tuesday !!!

    Any info / pics yet ????

    jonandjen
     
  17. Sledge

    Sledge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice looking set. Pity the speaker isn't detachable like in previous models.

    Can confirm that via the pc input (vga) the resolution is limited to 1280x768. Waiting on a dvi to hmdi cable to be delivered to make sure it does 1:1 pixel mapping before I throw the box out.

    The available options for the pc input are limited but do the basics. You had much more control before. Then again I can't bring up the hdmi menu until I have something plugged into it so hopefully there are more options.
     

Share This Page

Loading...