Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Sharp - LC37GA5 has got dvi input and is only £2093

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by andya, Dec 6, 2004.

Tags:
  1. andya

    andya
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,432
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +35
  2. Skiny

    Skiny
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, I think it's a mistake. I'm pretty sure the GA5 series don't have DVI.
     
  3. asm495

    asm495
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think it's probably a mistake too but I've emailed them to ask. In my emails with Sharp over the GA3E/GA4E mess I asked what models would have DVI at 37" and they more or less dodged the question.

    It is possible however that Sharp might have had a little bit of common sense and realised that someone who is going to spend £2000 on a TV might possibly want a high-resolution input. I hope so but I won't be getting my hopes up...
     
  4. asm495

    asm495
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. Xelon

    Xelon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +53
    Unbeatable.co.uk are offering this model for £2,247.96, but no mention of DVI in the specs, the model looks identical to the GA3 series, when are Sharp UK going to follow suit with the US models which I believe have DVI & HDMI inputs?
     
  6. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Not according to my Sharp brochure, I posted the full spec of the GA5E on another thread
     
  7. patr1ck

    patr1ck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
    The pictures in the links above look completely different. The one from Electrical World has an awful wide bezel with the speakers below and the one from Flatdeal has a narrow bezel and the speakers on the side!

    Which one is correct? Are the speakers removable?

    Pat
     
  8. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    PJM,
    No they are not
     
  9. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Option> LC-37GA4E LC-37GA5E
    No presets> 99 200
    1 bit technology> yes no
    PaP> yes no
    AV3> Scart & Y/Cb/Cr Scart & S-video
    AV4> S-video & Video Y/Cb/Cr
    DVI-I> yes no
    RS232> yes no
    Detach Spkrs> yes no

    These are the major differences that I can see from the brochure, if you want more info order the 2004/5 book from the Sharp website.

    Not sure how you can insert tabs into the text!
     
  10. patr1ck

    patr1ck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
    Jimg, thanks for the information.

    Pat
     
  11. jgrg

    jgrg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +36
    Hmm, I'm suspicious. I think these sites just copy the text from each other. I see a lot of mistakes, especially with matching the picture of the TV to the model.

    James
     
  12. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    James,
    When I was buying my 37" GA4 a while ago I was confused by the websites. They seem to be very lazy and cut and paste info. That's why I spoke to Sharp techies and also got the glossy book before I bought. The GA5 stuff I have posted is straight grom the Sharp book and confirmed by the techie.
     
  13. jgrg

    jgrg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    557
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +36
    Thanks, that's very interesting. Maybe I'll have an option if my LC32GA4E never turns up! (Though I'd still prefer it because of the removable speakers.)

    James
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice