1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp - LC37GA5 has got dvi input and is only £2093

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by andya, Dec 6, 2004.

  1. andya

    andya
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
  2. Skiny

    Skiny
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, I think it's a mistake. I'm pretty sure the GA5 series don't have DVI.
     
  3. asm495

    asm495
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think it's probably a mistake too but I've emailed them to ask. In my emails with Sharp over the GA3E/GA4E mess I asked what models would have DVI at 37" and they more or less dodged the question.

    It is possible however that Sharp might have had a little bit of common sense and realised that someone who is going to spend £2000 on a TV might possibly want a high-resolution input. I hope so but I won't be getting my hopes up...
     
  4. asm495

    asm495
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. Xelon

    Xelon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    391
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +53
    Unbeatable.co.uk are offering this model for £2,247.96, but no mention of DVI in the specs, the model looks identical to the GA3 series, when are Sharp UK going to follow suit with the US models which I believe have DVI & HDMI inputs?
     
  6. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Not according to my Sharp brochure, I posted the full spec of the GA5E on another thread
     
  7. patr1ck

    patr1ck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
    The pictures in the links above look completely different. The one from Electrical World has an awful wide bezel with the speakers below and the one from Flatdeal has a narrow bezel and the speakers on the side!

    Which one is correct? Are the speakers removable?

    Pat
     
  8. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    PJM,
    No they are not
     
  9. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Option> LC-37GA4E LC-37GA5E
    No presets> 99 200
    1 bit technology> yes no
    PaP> yes no
    AV3> Scart & Y/Cb/Cr Scart & S-video
    AV4> S-video & Video Y/Cb/Cr
    DVI-I> yes no
    RS232> yes no
    Detach Spkrs> yes no

    These are the major differences that I can see from the brochure, if you want more info order the 2004/5 book from the Sharp website.

    Not sure how you can insert tabs into the text!
     
  10. patr1ck

    patr1ck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
    Jimg, thanks for the information.

    Pat
     
  11. jgrg

    jgrg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hmm, I'm suspicious. I think these sites just copy the text from each other. I see a lot of mistakes, especially with matching the picture of the TV to the model.

    James
     
  12. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    James,
    When I was buying my 37" GA4 a while ago I was confused by the websites. They seem to be very lazy and cut and paste info. That's why I spoke to Sharp techies and also got the glossy book before I bought. The GA5 stuff I have posted is straight grom the Sharp book and confirmed by the techie.
     
  13. jgrg

    jgrg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thanks, that's very interesting. Maybe I'll have an option if my LC32GA4E never turns up! (Though I'd still prefer it because of the removable speakers.)

    James
     

Share This Page

Loading...