1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp lc32p50e and laptop?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by krikker, Oct 18, 2005.

  1. krikker

    krikker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I just ordered a lc32p50e lcd and I am planning to hook it up with my computer. Even after reading a bunch of treads on this I am still confused. I have a laptop with a tv-out and a vga. The Sharp has hdmi and scart. What is the best way for me to connect the two? If I connect through vga will I also need a cable from my audio-out? Is the tv-out really that bad? Would it really be worth it buying a mini-pc with a dvi-exit?
    :lease:
    A lot of questions I know, but just want to make sure that I have everything ready when my new lcd arrives :)

    /Krikker
     
  2. Jim Barry

    Jim Barry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    This model is not designed for use with a PC. You can use the TV-out connection from your laptop but it will probably look a bit fuzzy. You will need to connect the audio separately.
     
  3. andrewfee

    andrewfee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +500
    It should be usable for video from a PC via HDMI, but due to the low resolution of the panel (which is what gives the fantastic quality with Sat/Cable/Freeview and DVDs) it will not be suited to using as a big monitor like some of the other LCDs out there.
     
  4. krikker

    krikker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, but the main reason for connecting the pc is to watch movies (homevideos, divx, etc) and maybe the ocasional picture slideshow. I understand that actually displaying windows will look fusy, but wouldn't movies and pictures be OK?
     
  5. andrewfee

    andrewfee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +500
    Should be fine then, as long as you set your PC to output the right resolution over HDMI. (use a DVI > HDMI cable, and Powerstrip to add the resolution to your list if it isn't auto-detected)
     
  6. krikker

    krikker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :)
    Thank you!..... but, as I said earlier my laptop does not have a dvi-exit (hence my problem). I have seen vga>dvi adaptors - should I use this combined with a dvi > hdmi cable or would the best thing just to do it all through the tv-out?
     
  7. andrewfee

    andrewfee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    3,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +500
    Ah, sorry I was half-asleep there when replying.

    I'm not sure if the HDMI spec is to accept analogue video or not; if it will, then a vga > dvi/hdmi adapter should work perfectly.
     
  8. Jim Barry

    Jim Barry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not. HDMI is a digital interface (like DVI-D).
     
  9. krikker

    krikker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm... still confused. So there is no way of using the VGA-out with the lcd? If I am stuck with tv-out will the quality when playing divx be noticable worse?
     
  10. mitor

    mitor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    weston super mud
    Ratings:
    +114
    Doesn't sound like the VGA out will work with this model.

    TV-OUT will be a worse picture

    if it's S-video, pretty bad

    if it's composite (probably a yellow connector) Very bad.



    Sorry, 'fraid that because the TV is designed with SD in mind they clearly didn't think connectivity was as important, you'll still be able to display pictures and movies on it, but they won't be "crisp", rather like connecting a digi camera to a good quality CRT, It's not bad, but not jaw dropping.


    sorry
     
  11. krikker

    krikker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks :(
    Would it make sense to upgrade to a grapichs-card with a dvi-exit?
     
  12. mitor

    mitor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    weston super mud
    Ratings:
    +114
    hmmm

    I do know of a PCMCIA graphics adaptor for a laptop which gives a DVI-D but it was rather expensive (around 200 quid)

    For that sort of cash you'd be better of buying something like a roku mediabridge

    http://www.expansys.com/product.asp?code=119053

    which is a lovely bit of kit

    or maybe even an xbox360 (i have to keep mentioning this damn thing) which would give you photo/music replay in HD via component.



    Mind you, as the resolution of your screen is only 576 lines vertical you wouldn't get a truly great benefit from any of these things, just connect up any old RCA lead from the video out of your laptop to the composite in on your TV and see if you're happy with it!

    Damn sight cheaper!
     
  13. krikker

    krikker
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    wow... the Roku HD1500 looks very nice!! I presume that it would support divx/xvid etc. This is definately an option as it would also allow me to play all my mp3s through my Denon surround! And it is even wifi wireless :) this tv is getting more and more expensive hehe
     
  14. mitor

    mitor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,211
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    weston super mud
    Ratings:
    +114
    LOL


    Yeah it's a lovely bit of kit, I would do a search on it though as there are issues with different codecs under diferent firmware (altough this may relate to high def playback)
     

Share This Page

Loading...