1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp LC26GA4E

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by ukhoe, Nov 22, 2004.

  1. ukhoe

    ukhoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    Been reading this forum for the past few weeks and come to the conclusion the Sharp LC26GA4E is the one for me. I have now seen it under £900 at empire direct. Does anyone have one of these screens. I am planning to just run an rf cable to it and wall mount it in the dining room.

    Would like some feedback if possible to the PQ when watching football from just a RF cable
     
  2. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    If you can hold on a few days I'll have one by the middle of the week (hopefully). Robert Whyte are just changing couriers after a few 'lost' plasma screens, so I have to wait a bit longer....

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  3. AlShack

    AlShack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got one about a week ago. Unfortunately I don't have a house ariel, so cannot comment on the RF signal.

    Looks great through ntl digital though.

    Even playing a video through a cheap & nasty scart looks ok.

    Why are you only running it through rf?

    Cheers
    Al
     
  4. ukhoe

    ukhoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Alshack,

    Thanks for the reply. I'm only using RF because I can't see any other way to feed in a signal. I have a humax fv in the lounge, but this screen will be wall mounted in the dining room.

    As it stands I will be hiding all cables in the cavity of the wall and running the
    rf cable down the same route.
    I'm open to offers of help BTW. Any suggestions?
     
  5. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Have you taken a look at a video sender ? I've ordered a Philips vl1400 from Amazon. It sends RGB video over RF, is a 4 way SCART switcher and you can also use the remote control of the Humax (Or any other kit where the transmitter is) in the dining room as it relays the IR signal back again.

    Only problem is you need to hide the receiver in the dining room somewhere but with SCART cables up to 5m I'm sure you could hide it somewhere.

    There is also a vl1200 that allows for 2 way switching apparently although a friend has just bought one and can't figure out how !

    HTH,

    Richie.
     
  6. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Richie,

    All video senders including the Philips send only RF data.

    The Philips unit do connect via RGB scart and can do a decent job, however the bandwidth they work at isn't wide enough to send an RGB signal.

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  7. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Ah, read the blurb wrong on the website, it's got RGB pass through to the main TV.
     
  8. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    So is that why an RF VGA sender from PC to Monitor hasn't been made yet then ? That would be extremely useful !
     
  9. flatpanel

    flatpanel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have had the 3E for several weeks and use it with a Sony Freeview box.

    It seems a pity to buy a 16:9 LCD and then limit yourself to 4:3. Is there nowhere you can put another Freeview box ? But then if you are only watching football the smaller screen is probably an advantage :laugh:

    Michael
     
  10. ukhoe

    ukhoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting point flatpanel. Can you wall mount the sony freeview box. Where are the inputs, could you hide them back in the wall?
     
  11. flatpanel

    flatpanel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The box is approximately 21 x 26 x 4.5 cms and is designed to rest flat (without a stand) or vertically with a clip on plastic stand. There are no obvious holes that would facilitate wall mounting. The cables all connect to the rear end of the box. Visually it is very simple and the colours are not dissimilar to those of the Sharp.

    Details can be found here: http://www.npe.sony.co.uk

    and the manual here http://www.npe.sony.co.uk/manual.pdf

    Michael
     
  12. ukhoe

    ukhoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Alshack - you say you have one of the Sharp LC26GA4E's. Can you tell me if it tapers at the back. I have an alcove that this unit is going to cover. this alcove is 100mm from front to middle of the back(which will be ok), but around the outside of the back it is only 80mm.
     
  13. AlShack

    AlShack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ukhoe - I'll try & take a picture of it tonight & post it up for you. from what I remember it doesn't taper much, although there is a handle to lift it by which might get in the way.
     
  14. ukhoe

    ukhoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Al - much appreciated - all in all though, knowing what you know now would you go for the same screen?
     
  15. flatpanel

    flatpanel
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  16. AlShack

    AlShack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ukhoe

    Yes, I sure would. I'm no av-phile, so the finer points of picture reproduction pass me by (my main concern when buying was having detachable speakers & it looked nice in my lounge - nuff said :blush: ).

    Having said that, it does look the dogs (the picture, as well as the TV!). Running DVD through component & ntl digital through scart & both look excellent, as long as you sit about 2-3m away.

    Didn't take a picture as flatpanel gave you the link to dimension diagrams - let me know if you still want one.

    Cheers
    Al
     
  17. ukhoe

    ukhoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Al - It looks like this is the TV for me. How far away from the TV have you put your speakers?
     
  18. AlShack

    AlShack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quite a long way actually - in the loft :laugh:

    I've got a surround sound system in the room already so don't need them.

    Where you gonna get it? I got mine from JL & am looking out for the cheapest retailer to do a price match.
     
  19. ukhoe

    ukhoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice One!! How come you are looking for a price match when you already have this screen.

    Not sure where to get it from. I know Sharp give a 3 year warranty which I guess you get whoever you get it from. Any recommendations??
     
  20. AlShack

    AlShack
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    JL pricematch 28 days after purchase, and I just had to have it!

    JL also give a 5 year warranty, which is cool. This does not effect the pricematch policy either.

    I'm currently looking at the following to pricematch:
    hiwayhifi.com, Sound & Vision (not sure of web address), H Prestons, Krish, Robert Whyte.

    Go on, you know you want one ...
     
  21. ukhoe

    ukhoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Al - just checked out Robert Whyte £1059.99 + free 5 yr warranty, also you can pay for it over 18 months at 0% interest..This is getting tempting now.
     
  22. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    I fell for that too! Yes it costs a little more, but there are real benefits too. (like no £920 hole on my credit card bill!).

    Only problem here is RW told me the LC26GA4E is discontinued and will be replaced by an inferior sounding model (see my LC26GA4E discontinued thread.). They had the 3E in stock (not dicontinued) as of yesterday and assure me mine will arrive tomorrow...

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  23. ukhoe

    ukhoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks uczmeg - is the only difference where the speakers are situated?
     
  24. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,151
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    The speakers and the stand is a little higher on the 3E taking into account the height of the speaker on the bottom.

    But spec wise there is no difference.

    Cheers
    Marc
     

Share This Page

Loading...