1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp LC-26GA5E - Samsung LW 26A33W

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by ..::Linus::.., Mar 2, 2005.

Tags:
  1. ..::Linus::..

    ..::Linus::..
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    this is my first post in this fantastic forum and i need your help.
    please...excuse me for my english :)

    I'd like to buy a TV LCD 26''....and my first choice is the sharp LC-26GA5E and the second one is the Samsung LW 26A33W.

    Which of these tv lcd is the best for you?

    I want a TV LCD to watch DVD in Progressive scan or to game with my Xbox; i'd like to have a tv lcd ready for the future Xbox2.. :oops: , but i know that it's impossible to be sure about that, ma i'd prefer with a low response time!

    I can't undestrand the response time of the Samsung and of Sharp.
    Someone in this and in other forum have written that the R.T. of the 26GA5E is 16ms and other 12ms :confused:
    In pixmania.com/it/ website or better: HERE i see a 9ms response time, as you can see in the link.

    Can you tell me the response time of the Samsung LW 26A33W? Do you have information about it?

    what can you tell me about other TV LCD for using with dvd (pioneer 575) or xbox?

    thanks in advance!
    Linus from Genoa... :hiya: :hiya:
     
  2. ..::Linus::..

    ..::Linus::..
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    73 views and no one reply... :( :(
     
  3. jerkyboy

    jerkyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As great as the Sharp is, it has no DVI interface. So that would rule it out for me.

    Why the hell Sharp have removed this from there latest GA5 screen is a mistery, although its not vital right now, it will be in a few years time.
     
  4. CraigKORE

    CraigKORE
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of curiosity - why are you not considering the Sharp LC26GA4E?

    I bought one a few weeks back. Using it with the Pioneer 575 and XBox (both outputting prog scan) and picture is breath taking! Also has better connections than the 5E. One of the better buying choices I have made in a while and couldnt be without it now.
     
  5. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  6. CraigKORE

    CraigKORE
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Are you not meaning the 32inch version though? When I was looking about a few weeks ago loads of people still had stock on the 26inch. Flatdeal, Robertsons, John Lewis ect...
     
  7. motr

    motr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I purchased a 26" 3E a week and half ago and the 26" 4Es are easy to find.
     
  8. ianjh

    ianjh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm also looking at the GA5 but would prefer GA3 or GA4 (26ins) but very difficult to locate them 24/7 have the GA4 for £999 and jl the GA3 for £1295 however can get the GA5 for £812 plus 6months interest free.

    No HD input or swivel stand but same picture quality (?) and approx £200-400 cheaper!!!

    Anyone know where i can get a better price please?

    thanks

    ianjh
     
  9. JackFlash

    JackFlash
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    At the risk of being branded an Acer-bore, you really should consider their 26" model (AL3201W). It:

    - is a 26 inch widescreen TV with a native resolution of 1280 x 768
    - is HD-Ready, with an HDCP-compliant DVI connection
    - is capable of displaying 720p and 1080i HD signals
    - has integrated WOW and TruBass audio by SRS
    - has a response time of 16 ms
    - is less than 600 quid!

    By the way I've got one, and the picture and sound quality is nothing short of sensational.

    Jack
     
  10. Zagge

    Zagge
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    25
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are there fans in 26GA5E and what is the noise they create...? That would kind of be putting me off from buing the Sharp.
    I have understood picture quality in general is great, but is it so with analog tv tuner? Are there extensive picture zoom and aspect settings ?

    Rgds,
    Zag
     
  11. gslater

    gslater
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have thye 26GA3E purchased last week for £1035 on Tottenham Court road...did have to bargain them down first from around 1200 price point.

    Initially I put the sky broadcast onto it and was somewhat disappointed but after a few posts here managed to get the RGB scart connection on input 1 to give me a fantastic picture...I am now thrilled with it.

    Dont know about the response time though....but if you read toms hardware guide (they had a review of the various 26" LCDs) it gave it rave reviews all round and in particular on the response time. (I think the Samsung also got good reviews on the response time). I tink once you get below 15 then there is really little difference you can tell unless you are playing the really high end games (Doom 3 Half Life etc).
     
  12. jimr

    jimr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. DannyG33

    DannyG33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has the 26GA5E got a swivel stand??
    Where would i go to check if the RGB scart connection is set on input 1 ??
    Danny
     
  14. racingsnake

    racingsnake
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HD compatiblity from Sharps Web site:

    FAQs


    Q In my Aquos LCD TV ready to receive HDTV “High Definition Television” broadcasts?


    A If your Aquos LCD TV is 26” or above then it is HDTV compatible. Depending on your model there are two possible ways to achieve this.
    On the HV, AD and the GA5 series of Aquos LCD TV’s the Component input will connect your HDTV receiver, whereas with the GA3, GA4 and the GD1 series you can use either the Component inputs or the DVI terminal, the DVI terminal is also HDCP compatible.
     
  15. willo

    willo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    But it will still be analog if you go through Component. To get the maximum from HDTV you need either DVI or HDMI sockets which are digital.
     
  16. racingsnake

    racingsnake
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also note that Sky will not be offering component output from the HD boxes made by Thomson. I wonde why Sharp dropped the DVI port for the latest model???

    Thanks for the answer BTW.
     

Share This Page

Loading...