1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp GA5E - more info, possibly BS

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by ianh64, Mar 7, 2005.

  1. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    I spoke to a chappie at the Ideal Home exhibition today about the Sharp GA5E. Im not entirely convinced that some of his talk was correct but I will reiterate some of what he said. He was obviously a salesman for an independant retailler.

    The GA5E is built in Europe - Barcelona to European specification. The GA3E's (and presumably GA4E's) were built in Japan to a globalised design. As such, the GA5E's are better at handling European standard standards than the GA3E. Ie pans will be smoother. Not entirely convinced on this.

    The GA5E uses a newer Sharp panel. Also not convinced by this also. It was probably down to differences in settings, but the 37GD1E beside them had a noticably blacker screen and better black detail. The GD1E definately has the Sharp ASV-black panel, not so sure about the 5E's.

    The GA5E has a Sharp Picture System similar to Philips Pixel Plus 2. This was developed from Loewe technology. I saw it in action side by side with another GA5E (I think it was a different size panel, wasn't really paying much attention to the sizes) and thought the image looked a little fake. Some horizontals had noticable jaggies but was assured that this could be adjusted out. If it is based on Loewe technology as used in their Xelos SL/Spheros range, I would be confident that the image could be made much more natural and the jaggies would go.

    The 32GA5E is available at a show special of £1399. Don't know the normal retail price but it may be worth the £12/£15 entry.

    Didn't ask about lack of DVI and other differences.

    As an aside, I also asked how robust an LCD panel was. He gave the Sharp panel alot more abuse than I would have liked, it flickered, snail trailed etc etc but survived intact. He mentioned that in prison they even have coke cans thrown at them and they still survive. Not sure if it will take quite that abuse, but I am less concerned about sticky little fingers now that I have experimented on someone elses screen. Im still looking for a screen to test how well it stands up to a small hand holding a telephone handset!

    -Ian
     
  2. woody67

    woody67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    So the cons get a nice flat panel and we law-abiding people are stuck with CRT? :confused:

    Marvelous
     
  3. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ian

    Intresting update, I'm still in the confused stage, can't decided between the 32GA5E or the Tosh 32wl48p (would of preferred the 32GA3E), I'm leaning towards the Sharp in terms of PQ, but my head and wallet are saying the Tosh... :rotfl:
     
  4. ifx

    ifx
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just bought the 32GA5E. Tried it with analog terrestial and found that tuner is not as good as the one of Philips 15" LCD I bought some moths ago. However I'll be watching Sky pay per view (via RGB - interleced) and DVD (via component - progressive). Not tried the DVD yet.

    Haven't calibrated anything so far, but I think I will as PQ is not as good as I was hoping. According to me Lcd panel is better than the panel of the Samsung 32", but some features (OSD, remote control, connectivity) are not as good.

    However, I'll be trying to have the best picture this set will allow.
     
  5. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    IFX let us know how you get on, I have to make a decison by the end of the week !, also did you consider the Tosh at all ?
     
  6. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    LC32GA5E I can get one for £1100, does this sound like a good purchase :thumbsup:
     
  7. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    If this is true, do you think it might work it's way to the GA3/4s if it works properly through a firmware upgrade ?!

    Richie.
     
  8. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    My guess would be no. If the differences are that one is built to a global spec whilst the GA5's are to a European spec, this may also indicate a Loewe designed unit as per the comment that Vascovaz make with the GA6. In which case, the hardware would be very different.
     
  9. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ian have you got a GA5E or are you thinking of it ?
     
  10. Llanowar

    Llanowar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody seen any reviews on the new 5E panels yet? I'm really interested in the 37 inch one, but a bit scared about non digital signal and overall picture quality, is it as good as the 3E panels or....??
     
  11. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    as far i'm concerned this is the post important bit, and nothing less of stupid to release a NEW model without a digital interface.
     
  12. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Llanowar, The panels are the same
     
  13. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    so u wouldn't recommend getting one then.....also when should the lack of digital interface become relevant, there are know HD broadcasts at the moment and the beeb don't intend to dip their toes until the latter end of this decade. Also heard that Sharp intend to bring out some new models late summer with DVI/HDMI inputs, I'm just looking to buy something with a really top notch PQ either through DVD's or broadcasts, and that the footie looks good on. :suicide:
     
  14. Pezerinno

    Pezerinno
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Southsea
    Ratings:
    +70
    I think people are fogetting that the GA5 wasn't to replace the GA3/4 but to run along side it as a more budget orientated model however the GA3/4 models outsold supply and now we are left with just the GA5 models (pretty much).
     
  15. woody67

    woody67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    Mine should be on the lorry today, and in my lounge tomorrow!

    Having looked around the shops at various other screens, all seemed to be connected via scart or composite and had an acceptable image quality.
     
  16. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Manic,

    It's not just Hi Def broadcasts from $ky and the BBC, but HD-DVD and BluRay players require DVI/HDMI.

    Richie.
     
  17. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    true but where's does it all end, what's futureproof today is recycled bake bean tins tomorrow, if only I could get my hands on a 32GA3E like yourself...fancy trading for my shiny new GA5E ?? :smashin:
     
  18. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    OK. but delivery costs £2500.
     
  19. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    at that price you must be dialling in from a galaxy far far away :cool:

    anyone know anything about a Goodmans LD3201 looked a sparkingly set up for the money.
     
  20. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Ha, dial up ?! We're on AOL 32 beta test at the moment ove 1Gb access speed here on planet Nmmmf. It's your crappy broadband that slows me down more than anything ! :D
     
  21. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    broadband :lease: I have a 30's typewriter that I have hooked up to a washing machine which is in turn wired to a 78 Austin Alegro engine, oh wait I think I'm describing a ZX81..DOH wrong forum..!!!!!!!!!!

    So who out there is gonna buy a GA5E ?
     
  22. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Maybe someone who has a 50" plasma in the lounge and want something smaller for the bedroom and doesn't mind not having HDTV ?! Or someone who will get another TV by the time Hi Def comes out.

    Personally, I think it's merely bad timing that the GA5E was in the pipeline before the $ky announcement and Sharp could do nothing about it. So they've still brought it out anyway. Only thing is, the GA3's and 4's sold out so it looks like the GA5 is a replacement model when actually it was always due to come out as a base model but got to the shops too late.
     
  23. woody67

    woody67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    Its in the box in my lounge! :clap:

    I'm just off to pick up a discounted glass stand from Currys for £50 (as discussed in the AV stands/cabinets forum) and then I'm sorted.

    I'll post a preliminary review later
     
  24. Pezerinno

    Pezerinno
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Southsea
    Ratings:
    +70
    Does anyone know when the Sharp 62" LCD comes out? Also when will the 45" GA model be out? Thanks.
     
  25. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    look forward to your view Woody67, also is it the 32GA5E you are the proud owner of today :confused:
     
  26. jimg

    jimg
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    The 45" has been out for ages!
     
  27. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    Thats the 45GD1E, not a GA.
     
  28. Pezerinno

    Pezerinno
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Southsea
    Ratings:
    +70
    The current 45GD1E rrp is £5000 isn't it? Where do you think the GA will price at?
     
  29. Manic1

    Manic1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what's he verdict ? :smashin: :thumbsdow
     
  30. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,070
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +669
    The RRP is something like £6500. Street price is around £5000.
     

Share This Page

Loading...