1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp DVI connection

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by richjthorpe, Jan 21, 2005.

  1. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Does anyone know if the GA3 can take an analogue signal through the DVI ?

    Richie.
     
  2. Sledge

    Sledge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're talking vga output from your videocard with a dvi converter at the end of the cable then yes it will.
     
  3. Mads

    Mads
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    'Converter' could maybe be misunderstood. You don't actually need to convert any signals if you take the analog VGA output of a graphics card and connect it to the DVI input of your Sharp LCD.

    You just need a plain (cheap) cable which has a VGA connector in one end and a DVI-A connector in the other end.

    That is how I connect my laptop to my Sharp LCD.

    -Mads
     
  4. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks guys.

    Mads, you say a DVI-A connector in the other end. Are there cables that can take both Analogue and Digital (DVI-I is it) ? I need a 5m cable and will want to use it later for a DVD player and HTPC in the future using a digital signal.

    Thanks,

    Richie.
     
  5. Ultim8Fury

    Ultim8Fury
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    DVI-I does both yes. However my denon DVD player only has a DVI-D connector which is mechanically incompatible with DVI-I ( too many pins, not enough holes) So be aware that you may find the DVD player won't be able to use the DVI-I cable.
     
  6. Mads

    Mads
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess you could get a DVI-I cable (analog+digital) with DVI-I connectors in both ends and a VGA - DVI-A adapter. You could then reuse the DVI-I cable when you go all digital.

    But considering that a VGA - DVI-A cable is so cheap why not just go for the easy solution :)

    - Mads
     
  7. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    What's the 2910 like ? I was thinking of the 1910.

    I need a 5m cable and I'll be feeding it behind walls and everything. I could run another cable but it would be a bit arsey.

    Where can I get cheap DVI cables from ?
     
  8. jgrg

    jgrg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +33
    Online computer suppliers like www.dabs.com or www.simply.co.uk. HiFi cable suppliers are usually outrageously expensive for DVI. I got a 3m DVI-D single link Belkin cable from Simply for £15 including postage before Christmas. This has now gone up to £23, so you need to shop around.

    James
     
  9. MickyGee

    MickyGee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Preston
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try CPC (cpc.co.uk) a division of Farnell. Just type in their search engine DVI. I get all my interconnects from them cos they are cheap and offer a good selection.
     
  10. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    You may want to consider the 2910 due to the inclusion of HDMI output. The smaller connector could make feeding the cabling alot easier. Then at the TV end, you either have a HDMI->DVI-D converter or simply run a HDMI->DVI cable.

    -Ian
     
  11. Barnetto

    Barnetto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry if this is a numpty question, but I have been trying to discover on these threads if I can run something like the Denon 1910 to my Sharp 26GA3 via the DVI-I input - other threads seem to suggest it's possible, but you suggest above that the DVI-I and DVI-D cabling are incompatible. Is it just a matter of getting some form of conversion lead or is it more problematic than that?

    Do you think it would be worth trying to use the DVI over component with Progressive Scan on a 26 inch TV at all? Any advice gratefully received.
     
  12. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Barnetto,

    The DVI iput on the Sharps is classed as DVI-I. This means the input will accept plug types of DVI-I (Analogue and Digital), DVI-D (Digital) and DVI-A (Analogue).

    The slight difference between the plugs are additional pins. DVI-I has 4 additional pins over the DVI-D plug.

    When connecting a Denon 1910 DVD player, you need a DVI-D cable as the Denon will not physically accept a DVI-I cable. The are no pin holes for a DVI-I's extra 4 pins.

    Richie.
     

Share This Page

Loading...