1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp Aquos Fan Noise: Replace the Fans?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Bails, Jul 27, 2005.

  1. Bails

    Bails
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi. I have read a few threads on this forum about the fan noise from the Sharp Aquos panels. I too am bothered by the fan noise and am wondering if anyone has successfully replaced the fans with quieter ones. Has anyone had a look to see if standard pc-type fan connectors are used? Has anyone had a go at changing the fans? Or is it just not possible.

    I really like the Aquos picture but the fan noise just seems a serious design flaw to me.
     
  2. genoa1893

    genoa1893
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm also very interested for this question ;)
     
  3. av_master

    av_master
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    the new range doesn't have fans anymore. (at least, the 32GD7E doesn't)
     
  4. freekbear

    freekbear
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I remember someone having a look and the connector is a tiny 3 pin fan one - not the 'jumper' style as found on PC motherboard, but a tinier version, actually like the one on the fan itself. I think it's called a 3 pin pcb socket.

    Looks like this, but with less pins.
    http://cpc.farnell.com/productimages/cpc/standard/CN01264.jpg
     
  5. genoa1893

    genoa1893
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ok but i have a LC37GD1EA and i want to find a fix :(
     
  6. jgrg

    jgrg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +33
    That's interesting. I wonder if they desgined better passive cooling, or decided that the fans weren't needed, or maybe they are using a new chipset that has low power output and doesn't need cooling? I'd love to get rid of them on my 32GA4E.

    James
     
  7. Bails

    Bails
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I don't suppose anyone ever got around to giving this a try?
     

Share This Page

Loading...