1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sharp 37", quick review, wallmounts & connections!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by roopsbrar, Nov 26, 2004.

1. roopsbrar

roopsbrar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

This site was recommended to me by a very nice chap at flatdeal.com, as I am new to all this…and I’m knocked out by the level of knowledge & interaction (!!), which is what I need to tap into.

12 months of procrastination lead me to buy the (too many excellent reviews to ignore) Sharp LC37HV4E from letsgodigital.co.uk (strangely the bill came from Panasonic!) for under £2600 – I waited for this model to go end of life, as the newer models only really offer a marginally brighter screen & DVI (which I’m not sure is of value to me…but I’d welcome comments)

Its resolution, brightness & sound are superb. Black levels are average, particularly in dim scenes however contrast is very good. The OPC (senses ambient light levels) is too aggressive – i.e. dims panel too much in a dark room. But overall, VERY pleased with screen.

I’ve looked for a wall mount which swivels side to side (tilt not needed), to take 20kg & a 200mm VESA fitting. The Vogel EFW2003 (incredible price range of £266-£450) looks good, but I’ve also seen a swivel mount for £26.99!!! (http://www.ricamstore.co.uk/erol.html), who assure me that this is ok..even though their website says max 23” & 20kg. Has anyone used mounts from UNICOL or FutureAutomation, or recommend something?

Finally, what’s the best way of connecting Sky (Sky+ in future) and a DVD?

Seasons greetings to all! :clap:

2. jimbob19

jimbob19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +47
    Did you end up getting a wall mount for this ?
    I am after a similar setup for my LC37GA3E

3. roopsbrar

roopsbrar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0