1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sharp 32ga4e vs tosh 32wl48

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by loorenzo, Nov 22, 2004.

  1. loorenzo

    loorenzo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi
    looking to buy one of those
    response time?(picture quality)
    pc input?
    and all
    is hdmi realy needed
    i will use this unit with my p
    could you help me to decide
    thanks
     
  2. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    right now I would take DVI connection over HDMI, the tosh is said to have a 12ms response time where the sharp has a 16ms, both are good enough.

    The sharp has a better contrast and has better compatability with PC's also its lighter and the speakers can be removed and has more TV gimmicks like PIP AND PAP
     
  3. JonStatt

    JonStatt
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,352
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +446
    I thought the Sharp only has PAP, not PIP
     
  4. loorenzo

    loorenzo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for fast answer
    found at flatdeal for 1299
    any better prices?
    ta
     
  5. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    lol just ordered from Flatdeal loorenzo
     
  6. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    sorry u may be right, it was PAP and PAT I seen
     
  7. loorenzo

    loorenzo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok
    is it Wall mounting fixation points (VESA Standard)
    because i found a good bracket at argos p634 for a 50
     
  8. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    As far as I'm aware, it is VESA standard at 200mm. Take a look on the Sharp.co.uk website and download the PDF.

    Richie.
     
  9. loorenzo

    loorenzo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    resolution matter
    the lcd is 1366x768
    my ati 9800 pro grap card propose 1280x768
    does it mean ,i will get black bordure
    ta
     
  10. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    Loorenzo just use powestrip to unlock the hidden resolutions. You can get 1360x760 so that is ok.No black bars
     
  11. Judders

    Judders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can confirm the Sharp is VESA 200mm standard. I put mine on the wall recently. I used one of these brackets Veda Z847
     
  12. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    and so will I :D
     
  13. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    The word on the street is the sharps are in such demand, sharp just cant cope
     
  14. loorenzo

    loorenzo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks
    i will try powerstrip
    what about sound?
    if i add 5.1 home theatre system on my pc,can i still keep the speakers from the sharp or not
    thanks again
     
  15. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    The Sharps speakers can be used a centre so could be ideal
     
  16. loorenzo

    loorenzo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi scooby do
    could you tell more about how to setup the speakers for the sharp +5.1 please
    ta
     
  17. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    Loorenzo I do not have the manual to hand but I am sure I have read that the detachable speakers can be used as your centre speaker in a 5.1 set up. All you do is wire your centre output from your amp into sudio in on the sharp and then select from the audio options on the sharp use internal speakers as centre or something along them lines. My Sony KP44 PS2 does this as well and is quite effective. Mine is still boxed awaiting me to install but I have installed my Father in Laws and this is all done from memory so dont base your purchase on this in case I am wrong. Give Sharp a call for clarification they are helpful on the phone.
     
  18. rnsdm001

    rnsdm001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    SCOOBY DO

    Hi - we were going to buy tosh 32wl48..... think were now opting for sharp 32ga4e

    Do you know the weight of the sharp model?

    many thanks
     
  19. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    as per the side of the box the weight is 31kg this includes the speakers and all the packaging. I would imagine the TV itself is approx. 24kg as the speakers are quite weighty.
     
  20. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    sharp screen = 16.9kg
    +speakers = 20kg
    +stand = 24kg
     
  21. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    Not bad guess
     
  22. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    actual I think its on the site :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...