1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sevenoaks Brighton Tag Price Reductions

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Simonsound, Apr 16, 2005.

  1. Simonsound

    Simonsound
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just popped into Sevenoaks Brighton this morning for a set of Chord interconnects and noticed they have just reduced the pricing on their last few AV32R's. :thumbsup:
    So for those of you who have not yet picked up a DP, then:-
    AV32R DP 5:1 £1999.95
    AV32R SP 7:1 £999.95
    They had a few DP 7:1's as well left! :D
    I went for Chord Cameleon interconnects between processor and power amp - sounds fab, was this a good choice? :)
     
  2. audionutter

    audionutter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Interesting news there, what is the price for the DP 7.1?
     
  3. Simonsound

    Simonsound
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The DP 7:1's were going for £2999.95 some of them had DAB modules as well :D
     
  4. chrisstu

    chrisstu
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's interesting because I was told that they were only selling 5.1 DPs and the 7.1 upgrade was only available through IAG directly. I what is being said in this forum is true, I am a tad annoyed!
     
  5. Triggaaar

    Triggaaar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,591
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,022
    I think the 5.1 DP has the DAB module fitted as well
     
  6. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    858
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    No cheap new DVD32FLRs in Black about I suppose?
     
  7. caleb

    caleb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cape Town (Ex Holmfirth Yorkshire)
    Ratings:
    +3
    Jujst took the plunge and bought the last black DP in black from S/O.

    Not the same shop (bristol) but they gave me the Bristol price anyway.

    TMREQ - here I come (I'll have to fly to U.K. to collect it so any of you guys know which week Summer is this year?
     
  8. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    It was last week... :rotfl:
     
  9. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Put your hand in your wallet mate before its too late, CD replay it a large jump up from your Toshiba.... Of course there is always the dark side (HTPC!)
     
  10. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    858
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    Agreed. I still have plans for HTPC but right now the missus is talking about the need for a second dvd player for the kids. The Tosh would do the job if I could replace it at a price she thought (with a bit of selling) was reasonable - and when someone says "Very affordable black DVD32FLR" the little mental cogs start engaging in a special way.

    I need to sieze the moment and wring what I can from it.
     
  11. caleb

    caleb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cape Town (Ex Holmfirth Yorkshire)
    Ratings:
    +3
    BLAST - just my luck!! :suicide:
     
  12. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    858
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    Ha! Found a black FLR with plenty of warranty (FWIW with IAG) but it has a PSM module that I don’t need because I have one in my AV192R.

    How much extra should I expect to pay for the PSM? Would I be able to unload it for that much? How much should I expect to pay for such an FLR anyway?
     
  13. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    use the PSM in the AV192R...... The PSM in the FLR is lagely redundant, and isn't very swappable into a non PSM unit without a bit of work but has to be easier than putting one in a DVD32R....... Steve may know just how possible it is and therefore how easy it would be to sell on.....
    As it stands I suppose the FLR is worth about £1000?
     
  14. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    858
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    Thanks Graham,

    Presumably I can bypass the PSM in it without pulling the thing out. Since earlier, I have seem this module going for £300. Not sure the seller is going to want to ignore this.

    Also, having not seen it in action under test, I'm also wondering whether I lose much by not having DVI.

    If anyone has expereince here, I'm keen to hear.
     
  15. Spen69

    Spen69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Drop me a line - I collected my non-psm unit a week ago from Lintone and would be interested in a swap with a psm equiped unit. It is awesome, so the psm must be even better :thumbsup:

    Cheers - Spencer
     
  16. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Edward,

    Transfering a PSM is not the easiest task for those without a electronics background, I wouldn't recommend it. Also once transfered the ADC should really be recalibrated to ensure the unit is up to factory spec - resell value is low as it's really a factory fit (or a dealer with a proper service dept.).

    If you use the phono outs of the DVD32FLR then you get the interlaced out (pre-psm), so feed that to RGB1 of your AV192R and you will get the same result + you get AV192R OSD.
     
  17. Raphie

    Raphie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have the DVD32FLR without PSM as wel i am hoping on IAG to offer the (nonexistent :rolleyes: ) PSM HDMI board as retrofit option. I currently have a Pioneer 868 as well and the only reason he's still there is because of the HDMI and 1080i scaler built in. So any gossip about a HDMI 1080i scaler retrofit for the FLR?
     
  18. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    858
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    Thanks for that Steve.

    If I get this particular unit, Spencer might sold my problem nicely. His unit sound to be about the same age, so...

    Are you recommending composite video over s-video output from the standard DVD32FLR? Would I see the difference?

    Hear you were in the area on Sunday. I'd known I'd have invited you and Steve out when I put the wind through Mike's hair between here and the Stag and Huntsman.
     
  19. simon40

    simon40
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +4
    Edward,

    I assume the o/p connections on the FLR are the same as my 32R, therefore you will have component out via BNC connectors.

    Simon
     
  20. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Nope, when I say phonos I mean the 3 phonos carrying the interlaced YPbPr component signal

    Not when a PSM192R is installed. the three BNC's will carry the progressive output from the PSM, the three phonos will carry the interlaced component output.
     
  21. sijones

    sijones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +29
    Hi Steve,

    Would it be easy to modify the DVD32FLR (internally) so that so that the progressive signal is on the phonos and the interlaced signal is on the BNCs?

    Regards,

    Steve
     
  22. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Steve,

    It's quite feasible, but making gear non-standard is not a good idea expecially if people then expect IAG to fix them if it went wrong!
     
  23. sijones

    sijones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +29
    Do the phonos only ever carry the DVD output even if you route an s-video signal through the player?

    Regards,

    Steve
     
  24. Stevesky

    Stevesky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi Steve,

    The interlaced component output on phonos only carries the DVD player output, it does not cross convert from the PSM external s-video or composite inputs.
     
  25. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Yep only the PSM output does that......
     
  26. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    I would not bet on ever seeing an HDMI output board option for the DVD32R/FLR, There is really no point at all...... A decent off board scaler is the better bet as it has far more uses.... Of course should we see an all new AudioLab DVD player I'll bet it will come with all the toys...... I doubt it will be this year though......
     
  27. liam_b

    liam_b
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wilds of north Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +25
    theres no reason for any Pioneer clone not to have all toys, even Lexicon could manage that :devil:
     
  28. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Right, lets put a few thoughts into the melting pot.

    I haven't seen a Pioneer (or for that matter any domestic DVD player) via HDMI that has a better image quality than a DVD32R via component, some are close, some may even be the same but the clincher has always been the superior CD replay ability of the DVD32R. The PSM in the DVD32R is still perfectly acceptable as a deinterlacer (testemement to the original design maybe!), however the interlaced component output on the DVD32R is non too shabby either and this output fed into an off board scaler (which would also deinterlace) produces the best results normally. Anyone selling a PSM module for a DVD32R should be aware that it requires a fair bit of TAG knowledge to fit it into another DVD32R. it is not a normal DIY thing. Therefore its value as a standalone product is not that high in fact it isn't worth much at all unless some technical type is fitting it (and that is where the cost comes in), you can buy DVD players with the same PSM chipset already built in for very little money.....
    I have a PSM equipped DVD32R and never use the DVI output from it these days as the picture is so much better from the interlaced component output into a scaler (which also has a deinterlacer chipset the same as the PSM built into it...), I've tried feeding the DVI DVD32R output into the scaler and it isn't as good for some reason.

    A DVD32R/FLR is still a very good video and audo player and is worth all (and more) of the £1k or so people are picking them up for these days, you will not find a better player for the money assuming the rest of the gear can take advantage of it. If you already own a scaler that has built in deinterlacing then I'd suggest you feed it the interlaced output from the DVD32R, sit back and enjoy.

    If you have no off board scaling equipment then the PSM has merit as it will be as good as many display inbuilt devices, but the current crop of video processing chipsets being built into the new ranges of displays are now a match or even maybe better than the PSM (remember it is around 4 years old now!!!) and of course it isn't optional when built into these displays so you get it if you like it or not so you may as well use it....... Simply buying a PSM to get a DVI output on your DVD32R/FLR assuming that will give the best picture doesn't hold up, buying a DVD32R/FLR for reference quality CD playback and an excellent interlaced component output does....

    Flame proof suit now being worn.....
     
  29. derekn

    derekn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +31
    Absolutely spot on Graham.

    Derek
     
  30. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    It didn't make it a great player though.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...