1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up...Yamaha/Kef 'eggs'

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Silva, Jan 26, 2002.

Tags:
  1. Silva

Silva

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +53
    If anybody out there has got a YAMAHA DSP-AX620 and the KEF 'eggs', could you please give me some ideas as to how to set them up. I have got sound out of all speakers in 5.1 but it seems lower than what I thought it would be. In other words I have to have the volume level at nearly full to get any kind of high volume out of the speakers.

Any advice would help, as Im new to the amp and seperates game...

2. Geoffc10

Geoffc10

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    The sound output from a DVD source will have to be cranked higher on all amps as he DVD sound is more compressed. On my Sony amp you have the volume around 60 for Sky Digital, but for DVD its around 40-50 even higher for some DVD's. There is not a lot you can do except maybe buy a 5 channel power amp connected to the pre out sockets on the amp.I did this because i want to get a seperate processor in the future. If you try any DTS discs, the sound will be louder as the sound is less compressed.

3. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    What do you call high volume ? Do you mean night club type high volume or cinema style.

I watch films loudly and on my old Yamaha this meant 10 or 11 o'clock on the amp.

Funnily enough, I now have the same amp as Geoff and at 60 can hardly hear it. I play films at 30 on my current Sony and 45 for normal TV.

4. Geoffc10

Geoffc10

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0