Setting up wireless broadband.

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by knb, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. knb

    knb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Everyone

    I would be very grateful for advice on this. I had assumed that all I would need would be the wireless modem (Siemens Gigaset SE587 WLAN dsl provided by Tiscali) but when I try to install the software I get a message that says Network Cable Unplugged. Reading up on setting up wireless today some sites say that I need an adapter for the USB port to pick up signals. Will this solve the issue. I am tearing my hair out trying to figure it all out! If you can help please explain it in a way that a newbie to computers will understand.

    Many thanks
    Kerry
     
  2. mickevh

    mickevh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    7,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    West London
    Ratings:
    +1,722
    What are your client devices - (PS3, XBOX, laptop, MacBook, etc.)

    Presuming a laptop PC, to use wifi it needs to have a wifi network adapter. Ninety-something percent of laptops sold in the last few years have them built it, but check the spec. sheet.
     
  3. knb

    knb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    I am trying to connect two desktop pc's. Both are new within the last two years and both running windows xp (one service pack 2 and the other service pack 3). If I don't have the spec sheet is there a way of seeing if I have a wifi adapter installed?

    Thanks
    Kerry
     
  4. Abbadonuk

    Abbadonuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +5
    Richt click on "My Computer" and select "Properties".

    Then go to Device Manager.

    This will display a list of installed devices, under "Network Adapters" you will probably just find your ethernet adapter meaning you need to purchase a WiFi card or USB dongle.

    It it has Ehernet and Wireless/WiFi then you just need to configure it.
     
  5. knb

    knb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Realtek RTL8168(P)/8111C(P) PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC installed. Will any USB dongle work or do I need a specific one to work with Siemens Gigaset SE587 WLAN dsl? How do I figure out which type to get if I do need a specific one?

    Many thanks for your help.

    Kerry
     
  6. Abbadonuk

    Abbadonuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +5
    Any should work but try to get a Wireless N USB adapter as it is more future proof.
     
  7. knb

    knb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thank you!

    Kerry
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Or just connect a netwrok cable from router to PC
     
  9. beerhunter

    beerhunter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +740
    Yes you need some WiFI adapters. I would not use USB though. For desktops PCI is best. Read the many threads here as to why.
     
  10. knb

    knb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your input.

    I have been reading the forum posts on usb v pci card but so far have found no info on how I would figure out which brand/make/type of pci I would need. Will they fit all computers or do I need to figure out my existing system and buy a compatible one? Also are they difficult to fit and can you recommend anywhere on the net that gives reliable info on fitting them.

    Many thanks
    Kerry
     
  11. beerhunter

    beerhunter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +740
    I am surprised that you didn't find stuff about PCI WiFi cards.

    They are extremely easy to fit. A PCI card will fit the PCI slot of any PC.

    They will all conform to the IEEE standards 802.11b/g/n and will all have drivers for Windows XP/Vista.

    They will cost about a tenner each.

    Having said that if one or more of the PCs are in the same room as the router I would use Ethernet. (The routers and the PCs will already have that.) and you may want to read the FAQ on Homeplugs.
     
  12. knb

    knb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thanks Beerhunter. I have one PC in the room with a router and that will be connected via Ethernet but I want the wireless for a pc in another part of the house.

    Regards
    Kerry
     

Share This Page

Loading...