1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up VPN

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by JohnS, Oct 19, 2004.

  1. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I know, its not HTPC but.....

    I'm trying to set up a VPN between me and a mates house so that we can swap files easily and I can use remote desk to fix stuff, we've set his xp machine as the vpn server, mine is the client, we've set ports 1723 and 47 tcp to allow my ip through his firewall and I can connect and use remote desktop but can see his shared folders.

    We've both got the same workgroup name and we're on the same range of ip addresses.

    I've just tried a new workgroup name and ip address range on his machine and now rdp doesn't work although the client connection says it made.

    Any ideas chaps??? What am I missing?

    Cheers
     
  2. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Either of you have a software firewall as well John? I must admit this is something I've been meaning to look at for a while too.

    Does he use "Simple" network filesharing? This has been a problem for me in the past on my home network.

    Mark.
     
  3. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    He uses the xpsp2 firewall but we have already forwarded the right ports because we can at least make the connection and as I said, use RDP.


    He does use simple file sharing on his side, we can try that.
     
  4. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    John,

    I was thinking that simple file sharing seems to give me grief with network shares on my home network. If you are on the network then it make sense to try some specific use permissions and see if that helps.

    I know some people have no problem at with Simple File Sharing, but I have major grief.

    Mark.

    Mark.
     
  5. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Turned off simple file sharing and its still the same, cant browse the other network.

    Tried turning off the firewall ( :rolleyes: ) his end and that didn't make any difference either (so its now turned back on again.)

    Any other ideas chaps?
     
  6. iansimpson888

    iansimpson888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Standish
    Ratings:
    +109
    Can you browse to his PC?
    Can you see any shares?
    What are the permissions on the shares?
    What user credentials are you both using? The same?
     
  7. iansimpson888

    iansimpson888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Standish
    Ratings:
    +109
  8. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,950
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,262
    i'd try this to work out where you stand..

    1) ping his IP, see what happens ( we know this will work )
    2) ping his machine name, see what happens

    if 1) works and 2) doesn't, add an entry in hosts for his machine/IP

    ( c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts - open in notepad )

    3) if 2) works, try UNC to one of the shares and see what you get..

    (start>run> \\pcname\sharename )
    alternatively, you can also UNC to \\IP.AD.RE.SS\sharename and see what you get

    4) if 3) doesnt work, try mapping a network drive to one of the shares, using the administrator credentials for *his* system, this will eliminate permissions issues on the shares..

    Apols if thats a bit basic for you, but we've gotta start somewhere.. :blush:
     
  9. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thanks for the reply Dude,

    I opened a cmd prompt and pinged his no-ip domain name which replaces his non-static ip and of course I get a reply.

    I then established the vpn connection and tried to ping his local ip address and it times out.

    Added his local ip to my hosts file and tried to ping it and it timed out. I the rdp'ed into his machine to check that I had the ip address correct and it is...

    When I try to UNC it waits for ages before saying :- The network path was not found.

    I cant map a drive his end as they are local to his machine.

    Any other ideas?
     
  10. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,950
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,262
    tricky one.. how exactly are you both hooked up to the internet?
     
  11. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Both broadband, my side is a netgear dg834g, his is a modem connected to the pc we are trying to access. His is running xpsp2 as are the machines my side. I have a static ip so we've opened the vpn port to my ip address in his built in xp firewall.
     
  12. iansimpson888

    iansimpson888
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Standish
    Ratings:
    +109
    Have you tested them side by side, using a crossover/switch with all security turned off on both systems?

    Bit of a pain, but it might give you a starting point.
     
  13. The Dude

    The Dude
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,950
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,262
    It looks like a NAT/firewall problem... If you can use RDP ( which you've opened ports for? ) but cant ping, but you've tried without the firewall haven't you? :confused:

    I wonder if it might be worth reversing the roles for testing purposes?
    Set you up as the server, seeing as you have a better firewall, and a static IP.

    If you can get it all working this way round, it should make it much easier to find out where it's going wrong when you change back?
     
  14. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    I built his machine on my network and it connected to my shares then.

    The port we opened was the vpn port (1174 as I recall) not the rdp port (3389 I think) but rdp works because we have a vpn and are connected ( I think).

    I'll give it a go the other way round.
     
  15. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    OK, tried it the other way with my machine as the server with my firewall forwarding the vpn port to my file server which also ran the vpn server software, again the machines showed that we had a connection but we could not browse files. We couldn't ping the server from the client and this time we couldn't make RDP work but that might be just a sidetrack.

    Any ideas?
     

Share This Page

Loading...