Setting up Projector in a Garage Conversion.

twinx05

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am currently having my Garage converted into a spare room.

The room is 16ft x 9ft, which will have LED lighting into the ceiling.

I really want to make it into a room where my boys can go & play on their Playstation, Wii, watch dvd's & tv.

Also from a selfish point of view i want it for my Football viewing hideaway.

I already have a Projector but it isn't HD, i picked it up for nothing so i am looking into buying a new one, obviously also i will be needing a large screen.

I have rang Richer Sounds & they say i will require an Amp to run my Playstation etc through.

I am a complete novice on what models are value for money.

Obviously, like anybody, i want the job for as cheap as possible.

Would i be able to kit the room out for under £1,000 or less.

Any help or advice on good models will be greatly appreciated.

It's been doing my head in.

I haven't got a prob with buying second hand off e-bay etc if that will cut the cost down.

Many Thanks

Jason.

Did RS also inform you that if you do get an AV receiver that you'll also need to buy a speakers? Your £1K budget is rather low if it is intended to buy the screen, a new PJ, the AV receiver and a 5.1 speaker package.

Can you break your budget down and give a figure you are willing to pay for the AV receiver plus 5.1 speaker package? I'd ideally suggest no less than £500 although it is just about possible to do this for less, but you'll get what you pay for and the setup will be compromised.

they say i will require an Amp to run my Playstation etc through
You don't require an amp for that purpose as there are alternatives.
You might decide that you want one for its main purpose, to provide surround sound on a set of speakers.

If he's using a PJ then yes, he will need something to deal with the audio. I presume this to be what RS were hinting at? PJs don't do audio and are video only.