• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Setting up my surround with the ps3... Please someone help!

tobias3

Established Member
So I have a panny sa-ht855. It has an optical cable running directly to the tv so that I can have the sky and ps3 both on surround. My question is this... Will blu ray on my ps3 be outputting Dolby dts or digital? Or will I have to sacrifice the sky surround and connect my ps3 directly to the surround?
Hope this made sense as I'm a bit of a noob when it come to sound!

Thanks in advance

tobias3

Established Member

cas398

Prominent Member
Depends what you want to do.

You could keep your speakers and buy a amp/receiver. Probably your best option as you upgrade you speakers later, and it will give you HD audio as well as Digital - like DTSHD. There's a few suggestions in this thread for under £250. Or you can have a look about the Amp section of the forum. I don't know much about that but I'm sure you can use your own speakers.

Or you could get an all-in-one system like the Logitech Z-5500 for example, but you don't have the upgrade options and the HD formats.

If I were yourself I'd go for the amp option, maybe do a bit of digging first.

eom

Standard Member
Hello all

I have an old alba amplifier with 5.1 surround sound but no optical output or hdmi output is there any way to connect this to my ps3 or do i need a new amp? any help would be great thanks

cas398

Prominent Member
Hello all

I have an old alba amplifier with 5.1 surround sound but no optical output or hdmi output is there any way to connect this to my ps3 or do i need a new amp? any help would be great thanks

Nah you'll need an optical input to get digital from the PS3.