1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

setting up my pj

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by mightymag, Apr 5, 2003.

1. mightymag

mightymag

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi im a newbie
    I need help to set up my panny ptae300. I would like to use a screen area of 2m X 1.5m. can anyone tell me the optimum distance for placing the projector? My room is 17ft deep. I would like to mount the pj on the opposite wall to the screen giving the full 17ft distance, will this be okay or will it need to be placed closer? meaning it would have to be ceiling mounted.

Has anyone got a tutorial on setting projectors up as I am a novice.
    i would appreciate any help whatsoever as I am so looking forward to getting it up and running!

also would I be able to use a video sender, as I need to avoid too many cables running around the room.

thanks for any help you can offer:clap:

2. theritz

theritz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi Mightymag,

Welcome to the Forum ! :hiya:

A screen 2mx1.5m is 4:3 ratio (the shape of a normal TV screen), and the AE300 throws a 16:9 image - like widescreen, so your screen should be 2mx1.125m.

The size of screen is a function primarily of the distance you intend to have between the projectior and the screen - referred to as "throw distance". If you go to projectorcentral.com and check the specs for the AE300, you will find an icon which will bring you to a throw distance calculator. If you enter the throw distance, it will tell you the size of image you will get. There is normally a range of sizes shown, which are dependent on the amount of zoom used - minimum zoom would be recommended by most here, for the best picture quality.

In deciding your screen size you should also take into account that most would recommend sitting 1.5 - 2x screen width from the screen.