1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up my new TV

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Logan, Oct 3, 2002.

1. Logan

Logan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

After browsing these forums for a while I took some advice and got a new TV and dvd player. The telly is a Toshiba 36ZP18P and the dvd player a Toshiba SD220E.
    As I'm a total novice in these affairs, I'd greatly appreciate some advice on which leads I should stick where and what settings to put the TV on as I'm aware that by getting the correct leads etc you can greatly enhance your viewing experience.
    Oh, I'll be running a US Gamecube through it too.

Thanks in advance to all you helpful folks....

2. groundy

groundy
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Connect the DVD player to the Tv via the Component Video Inputs. Suitable cables are available from;

http://www.hificables.co.uk

and elsewhere. These are 3 seperate Coaxial Video Cables with RCA Phono Connections coloured Red/Green/Blue.

This leaves you RGB Scart Socket on the Tv free so you can connect a SKY box to it for example. The US Gamecube outputs component video as well and this is the best signal you can get from it but it would mean unplugging your DVD player to use the Gamecube. Alternatively, you could use RGB for your DVD Player and Component for the Gamecube. Another option is to buy or make (see my sig) an RGB Scart Cable for the US Gamecube.

Gamecube Component Video Cables are not available in the Uk and you will need to import one. They cost around £30 and I recommend:

http://www.tronixweb.com

or

http://www.ncsx.com

:)

3. bob007

bob007

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    DVD > TV Component
    DVD > TV Coaxial
    Gamecube > TV (not sure on the gamecube connection, maybe S-Video > Scart)
    Gamecube > TV Optical