1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Setting up JS Technology RGB>VGA converter

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by TTurbo, May 3, 2005.

  1. TTurbo

    TTurbo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recently took the plunge and bought a Panasonic TH37PW7 and a JS Technology RGB to VGA converter.

    Fortunately the screen package included a free Panasonic scart board because I can't get the converter to work.

    I'm outputting my Sky signal to the converter via scart and linking the converter to the screen with a VGA cable and setting the screen to PC1 but can't get a picture.

    Any help would be very gratefully received.
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    have you got sky set to rgb output?
     
  3. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yeah thats the main cause - if you have an RGB only scart cable and the screen isnt set to RGB you wont see anything!
     
  4. tim k

    tim k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes this is very annoying as you cant set it without seeing the sky option menu on screen, unless you have another screen which is non rgb to set it. I use my lcd pc monitor as a backup incase the rgb setting gets changed. I used to have a freeview box and everytime i turned off at mains it would reset and i would have to use the lcd to change the rgb setting, ANNOYING!
     
  5. TTurbo

    TTurbo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just been home to check and it is set to RGB (I've got the scart board so can check easily).

    All I'm getting is a black screen. Is there any way of checking if the converter is faulty?

    Cheers guys
     
  6. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    Just checked my sky box, have you got an option to turn scart control on/off if so turn it on and try again.
     
  7. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Checklist is:

    - scart lead must be fully wired, or at least wired for RGB
    - scart lead must be connected to TV scart on the box
    - if there is a scart switcher in the signal path, ensure it is RGB compatible (many aren't)
    - in SETUP menu on Sky select output RGB (default is PAL)
    - make sure JS box is plugged in...

    Usually its the scart being in the wrong socket on the back of the Sky box. You may still have the only RGB scart connected to the scart board and are using the VCR scart for the converter (which will not work).
     
  8. TTurbo

    TTurbo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers guys - looks like it was a dodgy lead, I tried a new VGA lead (knew that the Scart was OK) and it works now!

    Fantastic picture quality now, thanks to everyone for your help.
     
  9. Jono73

    Jono73
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    TTurbo,

    I am about to go the very same way as you and have a VGA converter instead of the scart. Seeing that you have viewed Sky via the scart and the scart >JS> VGA path, would you say there is much difference?

    Thanks
    jono
     
  10. JulianL

    JulianL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm also very very interested in the answer to this question.

    One specific question I have.... My parents have a PWD6 fed from a Sky+ box via the Scart board. I found the colour too overblown on their setup and knocked it down a bit on the panel to get a picture I liked. Knowing that the JS route will take away the ability to control the colour makes me a bit worried. How does the colour going via JS->VGA compare with the colour via the Scart board (with the panel set at it's default which is 50% I believe)?

    - Julian
     
  11. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    i have tried both and personally I find the colours far more realistic using the js..certainly never feel that i wish i could change them
     
  12. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,985
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +397
    I always seem to get into trouble when I say this, BUT there is some colour adjustments in the user menu (not service menu) when using the JS Tech RGB to VGA converter on a PW7 panel. And it makes enough of a difference to the picture quality to be worth a mention, particularly to flesh tones (in my opinion)

    lisa
     
  13. TTurbo

    TTurbo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for the late reply, I've been busy watching TV!

    I do think that there is a noticeable difference when using the VGA converter on Sky, it's hard to define other than everything seems a bit crisper and brighter.

    One thing it does show up though is the massive variation in broadcast qualities between the different channels.

    All in all I think that for £120 it's a very worthwhile investment.
     
  14. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +548
    Hi Lisa,

    Anychance you can PM me the details on making these slight adjustments?? from the PW7 menu should be getting my JS box tomorrow or Monday

    Thanks

    Dal
     

Share This Page

Loading...