1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

setting up g2,s (a1 or screencontrol )gordon roland anybody ?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by grahamricho, Nov 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grahamricho

    grahamricho
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    York
    Ratings:
    +12
    hows the best way to set up the g2 ,s on a n.e.c 6pg. the r g b screen controls ? thanks (roland gordon ?)
     
  2. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Simplist way is to turn the contrast and brightness way down and then turn the g2s up untill the tubes just start to show the image in the peak whites
     
  3. Nick Beecham

    Nick Beecham
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hockley, Essex, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Roland

    Sorry to be thick, but please can you tell me what G2 means.

    Thanks
    Nick
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
    G2 is GRID TWO: It's the second set of electrodes the electron beam goes through as they are accelarated towards the phophor onthe face of the tube.

    Setting G2 on some units is simple. Setting it on others is very hard. Sony 12XX for instance have some nice simple test points where you can meausre the voltage and adjust to get them to the right value. Electrohome's like Nick's you do as Roland has suggested. NEC's have a procedure that takes about 3 hrs to read through in the service manual.....and would probably take a good service technician hrs to achieve.....so I do them as Roland has suggested as well.

    I do it by putting up a 0 ire window pattern on the screen then turning contrast to zero and brightness to 10-15. Then look in to the tube faces. You adjust G2's so that you can see the raster start to glow. I E you should just start to see the active area of the phosphor start to just light up. You should check this a few minutes after you've done it as green phosphor has a longer decya time and if you over shoot then turn it back down you will not see the result immediately. Check again after a few hrs. If all is OK you might want to use some tippex or nail varnish to then dab the G2 pots to stop them from moving.

    Hope this is a little use.

    Gordon
     
  5. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    They are the Grid voltages. G1 G2 and on some tubes G3 they contol the number of electrons and the speed they are sent down the tube to hit the phosphor and make it glow.
     
  6. Nick Beecham

    Nick Beecham
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hockley, Essex, UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks guys

    I think I will leave well alone.

    Nick
     
  7. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Not one I would recomend. The solvents can get down onto the pot tracks and cause trouble.

    Even on the big moving simualtors barco don't stick these down.
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,979
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,780
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...