Setting up a sub properly.

Discussion in 'Subwoofers' started by Kasperoff, Mar 14, 2006.

  1. Kasperoff

    Kasperoff
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys,

    I'e had my current HT set-up for for a good few months, but am not sure that I've ever had my sub set-up properly.

    I have an MJ Acoustics pro 50 hooked up to a Denon 3805.

    Can some one advise me the best way to connect the two, and how I should set the dials on the back of the sub. The instructions were next to useless, and I still have no idea what 'phase' is.

    I am using Quad 11Ls as fronts, and have a 5.1 set-up.

    Cheers all.

    Dave.
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Have you looked at the "How to setup a subwoofer" sticky at the top of this forum ?
     
  3. Kasperoff

    Kasperoff
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes mate.

    However, its a bit light to be honest. I still am no wiser about 'phase'.

    Also, there is no mention of the best kind of connection.

    Any 3805 owners out there with any recomendations?
     
  4. DodgeTheViper

    DodgeTheViper
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Inbetween Upgrades !
    Ratings:
    +9,593
    Use a single phono ( RCA ) to phone lead from your amp to sub. Plug it into your sub preout on the amp, then into the phono in on your sub.

    Start with setting phase to 0. The Phase is how the sub interacts with your main speakers, and wether it moves in time with your mains or opposite to them.
     
  5. Reano

    Reano

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    873
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Telford, UK
    Ratings:
    +47
    Basically set to 0 first on MJ (as it has infinte phase setting from 0 - 180) then sit down listen to a track you know well which has well defined bass. Then move the setting to about 45' phase (yes you must guess) then listen again. Then 90', and so on to 180' and basically which ever has the best defined bass for you keep that setting. Thats how I do the phase setting and works fine.
     
  6. Kasperoff

    Kasperoff
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys. Thats shed some light on it for me!

    So basically, I can just use 1 half of a decent stereo phono cable?

    Then from the sub pre-out on the amp, to the high-level input on the sub?

    Also, whats this I hear about connecting the low-level input on the sub, to the centre speaker output on the amp?
     
  7. ahin4114

    ahin4114
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +48
    Other way round, the sub pre-out on the amp goes to the low level input on the sub, you can run a connection from any of your speaker outputs (in my opinion, preferably one of the front channels) to your high level input.
     
  8. AngelEyes

    AngelEyes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    10,617
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Detached from reality
    Ratings:
    +1,635
    Pretty much, although some people prefer a well shielded cable to reduce any interference from power cables etc.

    Mark Grant does some nice ones, custom length. I think they start at about £25 for a meter or so. Available in the cables forum.
     

Share This Page

Loading...