Set up help with sony bdp 370, sony str dh800 and sony kdl 40 403

ANGIEH##

Standard Member
Hi all, very new to these forums
anyway I need help with setting up audio configs with the above mentioned if someone could give a walk thru on how to get the best possible sound etc would be great as I have a pile of blu ray discs waiting to be watched but would prefer to watch them once I have the ideal sound etc. please do not use techie words as I am not very good with that sort of stuff
thank you

StevieBuck

Make sure the BDP-S370 is connected to the STR-DH800 with an HDMI cable, and that the STR-DH800 is connected to the TV with another HDMI cable.

Make sure the following settings are enabled on the Blu-ray player within the Audio Settings:

Audio (HDMI): Auto
BD Audio MIX Setting: Off
Audio DRC: Wide Range

The rest of the options will be OK at their default settings.

When you play your DVD or Blu-ray, the current audio format will show up on the front panel of the STR-DH800. Most DVDs will have 5.1 Dolby Digital. Blu-rays most commonly use 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio.

I'm assuming you have your speakers wired up and working properly through the receiver?

ANGIEH##

Standard Member
Hi, thank you for the help yes I have all 7 speakers wired up and a sub woofer as well. would you know about setting the a/v reciever up at all ?it is not like my old one which was very simple to set up and use also on the blu-ray player which settings should I use for picture and on my tv for best results (for that ultimate blu ray experience)

StevieBuck

The two receivers I have are made by Sony as well, so I'm fairly familiar with setting them up.

First thing to check is that you have the correct speaker pattern selected from the 'Speaker' section of the menu. It should be set to '3/4.1' if you have a full 7.1 speaker arrangement.