Set-up Compatibility

I wasn't sure where to post this topic so im sorry if it shouldn't be in here.

Im pretty new to AV and have gone from just wanting a new tv to wanting home cinema hardware. I just don't know whether everything will be compatable. So i thought id ask people who really know what they are talking about.

The TV im getting is the Hyundai IT Q261 26" from Scan.co.uk for £468.

I have been offered some speakers and an amp from a friend for £150. I think it will save me quite a lot of money. These are:

Sony STR-DE485E Amp

Wharfdale Diamond 8 Centre speaker

Eltax liberty 5 Fronts

I'm planning on buying two rear speakers and a decent sub separately.

I'm aware that the LCD screen is HD ready so im going to use the best possible connection that i can, which i think is the HDMI connection.

Does the HDMI cable go through the amp aswell? or does it just go straight to a DVD player or something?

Ive searched through the forums for anything to do with that amp but didn't find anything that helped. When i saw the HDMI amp thread it made me think about compatibility.

http://www.hyundaiq.com/pro_spec_q261.asp - Thats the link to the LCD Specs.

Will that amp work well with my TV?

Thanks in advance for any help :)

Rich :thumbsup:

Andy98765

Distinguished Member
There is no need to connect the amp to the TV, as it does not have the necessary switching anyway. For the price you are thinking of paying may I suggest you look at the following as the TV has got Component switching. http://www.petertyson.co.uk/ebuttonz/ebz_product_pages/yamahaav59-yamahaav59.shtml That Sony AV reciever is really old hat, I had one YEARS ago. The Wharfedale speakers are good and I would suggest offering £25 for them as a starting point.
The Yamaha reciever package is VERY popular on this site and a great price for what you get.

Thanks for the reply.