1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Servo 15 controls.

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by clancol, Sep 6, 2003.

  1. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    How does the control system on the servo 15 work.
    i want to ue the LFE output on my amp. Please Help.
    I am thinking of buying as i know how to get hold of one.
     
  2. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,153
    Connect the amp to the sub via the line level input, theres a volume control on the sub, also you can control output via your amps internal level controls, x-over should be controlled via your amp (set all speakers to small and x-over to 80hz).
     
  3. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    thanks but i was wanting to know how the x30 works?
     
  4. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    does the X30 come with the servo 15. If not how would i adjust the cutoff, through the amp. my amp wont seem to allow it?
     
  5. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The X30 is basically what you get on a normal subwoofer with low level inputs, crossover, etc.. just a external box.

    There's also a X-20? that is very similar, but is for high level inputs.

    If you're primarlary using the subwoofer from the .1 LFE output on the marantz you don't need the X-30. Just set the Marantz subwoofer roll off to whatever (ie 80hz, or 60hz if you have floorstanders), and adjust the gain knob on the subwoofer.

    You only need the X-20/X-30 in a stereo Hi-Fi system; where you're sending it full range audio- in which case the X-20/X-30 filters out the usual subwoofer frequencues (say 10hz-120hz, upper depending on the roll-off knob)
     
  6. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,070
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +669
    If you want to listen to movies with it, don't use a 60Hz cross-over or you will probably lose everything in the LFE channel above 60Hz. (This isn't a problem for stereo).
     
  7. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    thanks guy the only thing is a have looked at my manual and gone through all the settings of my marantz and the only thing i can adjust is the delay and the volume(db) i cant seem to adjust the crossover with the amp. does this mean i am screwd as far as a servo goes.
     
  8. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    The crossover in the amp is fixed and not adjustable. You can still use the Servo 15 exactly the same as any other subwoofer but you will have less flexibility with the setup
     
  9. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,153
    Surely though you can set speakers to large and small? If setting to small, don't amps generally automatically make the x-over around 80hz?
     
  10. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Unfortunately not as some have crossovers fixed at 90Hz, 100Hz and some even higher
     
  11. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,783
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,153
    Bugger:(
     

Share This Page

Loading...