1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Service Pack 2

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Munkey Boy, Aug 18, 2004.

  1. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,516
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,313
    Apparently due for release today, has anyone installed? I've heard it can cause conflict with games - anyone had a problem? I'm undecided as to whether to download it yet...

    BBC News
     
  2. Shockabuku

    Shockabuku
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +159
    Chinese proverb...wise man doesn't install new MS software until the foolish have discovered all bugs first.
     
  3. buzlightyear

    buzlightyear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    945
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +116
  4. Shockabuku

    Shockabuku
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +159
    Yikes! Thanks for that link...no way am I touching SP2!
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,762
    I've had problems with my mouse since installing, the pointer just starts moving up or across the screen on it's own from time to time. The main 2 games I play at the moment are C&C Zero Hour and CM Rally 4 and they both seem to play the same as before the "upgrade" (fingers crossed)
     
  6. buzlightyear

    buzlightyear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    945
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +116
    I think the main problem is where the firewall is now default as on, and these apps somewhere must try and communicate with the outside world from time to time.
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,762
    I've just uninstalled SP2 from my computer as I'm fed up with the mouse problem. It appears to have uninstalled OK :rolleyes:
     
  8. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    Fantastic! So the majority of anti virus products "may behave differently"..... :rolleyes:

    Bend over everyone, as we see a major proliferation of known viruses re-doing the rounds again! :mad:
     
  9. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +31
    Exactly what played up on my machine, Freedom Firewall & Anti Virus didn't get on with it at all. Machine slowed down to a crawl internet was like going back to the good old dial up days. :eek: Uninstalled it with no problems though :smashin:
     
  10. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    At least Microsoft got that part right. :rotfl:
     
  11. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1,081
    i've not had any problems thus far. The beta version had a few glitches but they seem to have been ironed out. Norton have updated their antivirus and firewall software to work with SP2, and even go as far as having a new splash screen asking you to tick a box to stop Windows from checking up on its status!
     
  12. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +1,081
    Have had one problem now, apparently microsoft have limited the number of concurrent half open TCP/IP connections to 10, meaning that programs such as bittorrent will have problems connecting to trackers/seeds/peers as well as slowing down internet access if the limit of 10 has been reached.

    Their reason is fair enough, to stop worms from spreading as quickly, but with no way of changing it, its not very fair to the power user.

    Luckily there's a way of modifiying the TCPIP.SYS file to allow any number of connections, i changed mine to 200 and the error hasnt occured again in the past 2 days

    search in google for SP2 4226 error fix and you should be able to find a link to the patch.

    Marc
     

Share This Page

Loading...