1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Service menu info wanted!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by fraggle, Feb 18, 2003.

  1. fraggle

    fraggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +29
    Hi everyone,

    I'm going to try to create a single repository for all things "service menu" related.

    This will include things like
    * How to access them
    * What you'll find in there
    * What NOT to touch
    * Blank templates for printing off and writing down the existing values
    * A general description of what the various controls do

    But you moderator needs YOU :smashin: !!!

    If you have details of how to access a service menu, or know of a link to a web page detailing such, have details or pictures of any service menus, anything at all service menu related, can you please email them to me at servicemenus@ukrm.co.uk.

    Thanks people!
     
  2. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +56
  3. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. bh

    bh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lost (no GPS here)!
    Ratings:
    +1
  5. Andrew_B

    Andrew_B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    198
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi, we get lots of calls from customers who've had Sony DAV-SXXX home-cinema-in-a-box systems upgraded to multi-region. They usually connect to the TV set with an S-video to SCART lead, as the DAV systems don't have RGB or SCART. The problem is that a lot of Sony sets won't accept NTSC on the S-video input so when playing NTSC material the picture is rubbish. There is a setting in the service menu which allows you to turn on 'Auto detect NTSC on Y/C' and this always sorts it out.

    We usually direct customers to this rather informative site, even if it is a bit difficult to navigate...

    http://www.kv32tweak.freeuk.com/

    The site gives the whole run-down on the Sony service menus.
     
  6. fraggle

    fraggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +29
    Thanks everybody!

    Keep 'em coming :smashin:
     
  7. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Very useful Philips sevice menu website here: http://home.hccnet.nl/m.majoor/
    I'll post info on what options mean when I'm near my lovely TV again. (Away from home right now) back in a couple of weeks.
     
  8. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. podgerama

    podgerama
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    just found out the service menu code for my 2yr old samsung widescreen w32v64ns

    power off the tv with the remote
    press 'display' then 'menu' then 'mute' and then power it back on again and it will be onscreen
     
  10. deijk

    deijk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. fraggle

    fraggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +29
    Good to see the info coming in.

    Loads of TV stuff. Bits of projector and DVD stuff.

    Including what I can find from going through all the forums (will take a wee bit of time :) ) I should be able to build quite a good database of how to access service menus and a general "what does this thing do" section.

    Once I get that lot up people will be able to let me know whats actually in the service menus (not the actual values but the layout of the menus and the parameters).

    Thanks.
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Can I recommend you contact some of the people on here http://www.e-repair.co.uk they have alot of manuals available and for sale.
     
  13. colesy

    colesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    721
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Fraggle,
    Do you know someone who has a web site or an email address I can post a Panasonic TV 32pf10 manual in pdf format to? The file is over 5mb, but you are more than welcome to it.
     
  14. fraggle

    fraggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +29
    Hi colesy,

    Just post it to me, a 5mb file is no problem :)

    If I can legally do it I'll put it on my website along with the other stuff.
     
  15. RobbieG

    RobbieG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    just found out the service menu code for my 2yr old samsung widescreen w32v64ns

    power off the tv with the remote
    press 'display' then 'menu' then 'mute' and then power it back on again and it will be onscreen


    Just tried the avbove on My Samsung plasma and it workes!

    too scaired to change anything though
     
  16. Orbitalzone

    Orbitalzone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    394
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +43
    I've posted 4 different Panasonic service manuals < HERE >

    They are for Z8 chassis, Euro 4, Euro 5, and Euro 7

    Covering such TV's as TX21CK1, TX28PK1 and similar to TX28PK10 i think, TX32PF10 and TX32PG50
     
  17. fernando

    fernando
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anybody know what are the subcolor and subbrighnest option in the service mode??????

    I manage both trying to fix the color excess of the horrible live mode and apparently I did it, but now, I am wondering if I really break the general colour equilibrium or whatever!!!!!!:suicide:

    I think that they are only for the general level of colour and brighnest but in theory is neccessary an oscilloscope.

    Receive a PAL colour bar signal.
    2. Connect an oscilloscope to Pin 5 of CN003 [A Board].
    3. Enter into the ‘Service’ service menu.
    4. Adjust the ‘Sub Colour’ data so that the Cyan, Magenta and
    Blue colour bars are of equal levels as indicated below.


    :eek:

    I can back to the original levels but I think that now is better.

    Could anybody post the values of theses items in his set???

    Thanx a lot
     
  18. Ka113

    Ka113
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is great! I got into the service menu on my Samsung. I changed something and freaked out then I couldn't use 4:3 any longer. But I got it to work again :)
    Does anyone have access to the service manual?
     
  19. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  20. tincupuk

    tincupuk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI Nathan .. I tried to get your toshiba service manual file, the link worked but they say the files get deleted after 3 days ,,,,, Just wondered if you could send me the service manual file for my Tosh 42PW23P ... Please ?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  21. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    tincupuk. I'm uploading the service manual for the 42PW23P now. Give it a hour or so, and check.


    I've uploaded the file twice. Look for nathanjones user. I can't seem to find it. Weird.

    If you have a FTP server/internet web space then I can upload it to?
     
  22. tincupuk

    tincupuk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for trying Nathan ,, i seem to have the same problem of not being able to find it !

    I dont have any web space but i do have Broadband if u can send it email ? Would be such a help ... thanks again
     
  23. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The file is 25MB big! I don't think I can have a attachment of that size.

    Has anyone got a FTP server I can use to upload the file?

    Cheers
     
  24. tincupuk

    tincupuk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nathan I have managed to get some web space but i think it is going to take some time before i can use it ( upto 3 hours i think )

    Any way i will let you know how i get on if thats ok ....

    It seems me service settings have gone bad and i know the manual has the defaults i thought i would try.

    Just wondered also if there was a way of resetting the RPTV back to defaults as a starting point ? Or do you know if the settings on the uk TV's are the same ? Would be so much easier if i could enter the values from a known good set ,, just a thought ..

    Thanks
     
  25. JIT

    JIT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +8
    tincupuk and nathan_silly and news on the 42PW23P service manual as i wouldn't mind having a look at it?
     
  26. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Jit, I've uploaded it to tincupuk free site... PM tincupuk for info.
     
  27. luv ya jen

    luv ya jen
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sony kd36nx200 please great job
     
  28. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    Frag, have you getting on with this ? Is there a progress udate ? :)
     
  29. The_KELRaTH

    The_KELRaTH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SurreyHeath
    Ratings:
    +9
    I have the full service manual in PDF format for the Sony KD36NX200 / 32NX200 / DX150.

    I'm happy to send it to another adsl/cable user as it's 30mb when compressed with winrar.
     
  30. Patriarch

    Patriarch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any service manual for the philips 8807?
     

Share This Page

Loading...