Seriously Worried...

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by kiwinator, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. kiwinator

    kiwinator
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +2
    Im thinking of getting SKY HD ( i have SKY+) and i have heard about lip synch issues. Is it worth waiting till this is resolved or am i waiting for nothing? Is it really bad?

    Also,


    • I have sky+ so can i not pay the installation charge and just plug sky hd box in?


    • Who else thinks that DARTS in HD is superb quality?
     
  2. jay61076

    jay61076
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Not everyone is having Lip sync issue I have never seen it :thumbsup:

    As for installation Sky won't just send a box out it has to be fitted but they will cover everything for 12mths even the dish and cables :)

    can't say about darts as not my cup of tea :cool:
     
  3. GasDad

    GasDad
    Remembered (1964-2012)

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5,407
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +758
    Personally you're waiting for nothing - its an occastional issue on some channels.

    If you think of Sky HD (or Freesat HD for that matter) as being the TV equivalent of Windows 95 - ie a huge improvement on what went before but still with plenty of niggles, you can't go far wrong. And in the same way the Windows 95 worked for millions back then, Sky HD works for millions of viewers now.

    No because you've already had your free install. Just think of it as 79 quid including delivery and it'll seem less painful.
     
  4. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    25,972
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +10,838
    With HD you start to notice things you didn't before.
    I'vefound the HDMI sereo output synchs very well, the 5.1 on optical not quite so well.
     
  5. The Dark Horse

    The Dark Horse
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    4,306
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +847

    I've upgraded to HD and the picture is noticably better. Flicking between Sky 1 and Sky 1 HD you can spot the difference straight away.

    The engineer runs a test on your signal and does something to the card so it works on the HD, so its not just a case of swapping boxes.

    Even though the picture is better its not worth £10 a month. I only upgraded because my old Sky+ box was knackered and needed replacing anyway. Plus I wanted a black box to go with my other equipment.
     
  6. bluesat

    bluesat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes the Darts is fantastic in HD, but in was on for FREE just after new year on freesat BBC HD :rolleyes:
    But i guess you watch the money grabbers on SKY lol:rotfl:
     
  7. Jonstone

    Jonstone
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Prestatyn
    Ratings:
    +544

    I had this issue with sky hd (audio behind video) and it was not an occasional issue or a minor niggle, it made it unwatchable.

    Having said that it is clearly only a small minority who have/had the problem to this extent and I wouldn't let it put you off signing up for sky hd.

    Worst case scenario is that you have bad problems and cancel it within the first 30 days but I am sure it is unlikely to happen.
     
  8. Redline

    Redline
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Weymouth
    Ratings:
    +341
    No problems with lip sync on my 2 year old Thompson box.
     
  9. john2303

    john2303
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire
    Ratings:
    +8
    got hd 17/1 and have noticed problems with lip sync so they came out and replaced the box today - so far so good and its an amstrad by the way
     
  10. Nero

    Nero
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    381
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +7
    Is there a certain make of box this is an issue on?
     

Share This Page

Loading...