Seriously low budget projector...

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by skinhead, Mar 7, 2005.

1. skinhead

skinhead
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hey guys. Newbie here, so be gentle :)

Basically, i am looking into getting a projector, and am looking at a seriously low budget , ie. at full stretch, £500-ish.

Would this be at all possible?

In terms of picture quality, i'm not too fussed on the quality of picture, trust me, anything is a step up from what i've been using in the past !

So any ideas / tips ?

2. KraGorn

KraGorn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi :hiya:

To be honest you're struggling with that budget to get something new that's worth spending money on, I know you say PQ isn't really an issue but even so .. :)

The lowest I think I would consider going is an Epson EMP-TW10H but that's over £600, there's precious little on the market for less that's remotely 'home cinema' as opposed to something designed for business presentation use and which really are not good for watching movies.

If you really can't stretch to that I think I'd be inclined to look for a second-hand machine from someone upgrading, look at the Classifieds section on here for instance, there's often a few machines being sold.

3. TT9

TT9

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not an LCD'er as such so maybe not best placed to give advice, but . . .

. . . . I started a couple year back with a Sony HS10, and it was flippin' fantastic. I mean, as an introductory pj it was awesome. Brilliant bright image and very colourful. I had a lot a film evenings and everyone of my friends was equally wow'd. Since I've upgraded to a mid/high end DLP, some still swear they can't remember much of a difference with this against the HS10 (cheeky beggars :rolleyes: ). Still, what do they know . . . . !!!

Second hand HS10 I reckon could be found at ~£500.

Cheers,