Serial commands for PWD6

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by rectorydp, Nov 26, 2004.

  1. rectorydp

    rectorydp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm looking at using the serial terminal on my Panny to integrate control with my home automation. However, the doucmentation in the operating instructions is fairly basic. Does anyone know if it is possible to send more commands than those listed, ie power no/off, volume, mute, input selection and screen mode.
    I also wanted to use the interface to find out the current state, eg screen mode. Does anyone know if this can be done - perhaps formatting a command with a ? for the parameter? I will do some testing but if anyone has the information it would be very much appreciated.


    Many thanks
    David
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    david if you are in the UK a panasonic business systems dealer will have the info whether they will give/loan/sell it to you is another matter i suggest you contact a few...
     
  3. rectorydp

    rectorydp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, that is probably worth a try. I thought someone here might have the info as it appears to be a very well informed forum.

    Any suggestions for a dealer who is likely to help on this one?
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    the one you bought the panel from?
     
  5. rectorydp

    rectorydp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well I guess I asked for that! Yes, they will be my first port of call...
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Welcome to the forum mate :hiya:
     
  7. rectorydp

    rectorydp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks - Are you just trying to boost my number of posts! :D
     
  8. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    David,
    Who's automation system are you using? Have you looked in the Crestron forum?

    Which Panasonic document do you have? Do you have the four page document PDP Control Command (via Serial Interface) PDP005
    Model: TH-37PWD6, TH42-PWD6, TH-42PHD6, TH-50PHD6

    Paul
     
  9. rectorydp

    rectorydp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Paul

    I am using a combination of things, some home-built and some purchased. My main controller is actually Homeseer. I guess I could have a look over at the Crestron forum. I certainly haven't seen anything on this come up on the UK Home Automation forum.

    David
     
  10. rectorydp

    rectorydp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Paul

    I haven't seen PDP005 at all. I did some searches on the web to find stuff , including Panasonic sites (what a waste of time they were!). I've only got operating instructions. Do you have a copy that you can provide. :lease:

    David
     
  11. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
  12. pemberto

    pemberto
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Huntingdon
    Ratings:
    +32
    Dave, Just sent a PM
    Paul
     
  13. rectorydp

    rectorydp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    Paul

    That helps a lot thanks. I couldn't find any useful doucments when I searched in the Panasonic site. When I put the model number in I kept on getting a message to say no documents found. :confused:

    David
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice