Seperate mains circuit?

P

paiger

Maybe this should go in the DIY section but it is directly amp related.

I'm in the early stages of converting a barn into our new home. I am doing a lot of planning and at the moment I am working on wiring plans (mains, RF, Cat5, phone etc.).

The area where my AV gear will go is at the end of a longish room and I plan to have 2 double 13amp sockets behind the rack as I have a few things to plug in.

I have heard of people putting in seperate cicuits for AV stuff and wondered if this is a good idea as it would be very cheap and easy at this stage. Is this a good idea and should I put all the AV gear on one circuit or should I have one double 13a for the TV, VCR, Sky etc thats on the ring main and a seperate fused circuit that only powers the processor and power amp?

Any thoughts?

Hi, I was in the same position as you (although I'm not converting a barn sounds nice). Anyway I am NOT an electrician but I have a friend who is, so I actually insistde on having a seperate ring main for my tv and hi-fi so i won;t et any intereference from things like the fridge, dishwahser etc , and to make things neater and easier I'm having 6 plug sockets fitted into the skirting so each component can be plugged into the wall rather than having an extension plug which supposedly can degrade the sound. I couldn't tell you what it sounds like yet as I'm a long way off of moving in, my av equipment isn't going anywhere near my house until there isn't a spot of plaster dust left and that seems like it's never going to happen at the moment!

Don't suppose that was much help but I could probably get technical details if I can get in touch with my friend, it's all too complicated for a girl like me, I stick to making the tea :)

Paiger.

For what it is worth i am now an elecrical engineer (a couple of stops up from the station called electrician!)