Sending SKY+ to kitchen LCD

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by miracleboy, Sep 29, 2005.

  1. miracleboy

    miracleboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Sorry if this is the wrong forum, but we're moving into a new house and the setup I want is to have a 42" HDTV with SKY+ (SKYHD in 2006) in the lounge, and with a 17" LCD in the kitchen, and one in the bedroom.

    I want the LCD's to also have SKY on them, can I do this using some kind of video sender, and if so what are my best options?

    Thanks
     
  2. Robert Hill

    Robert Hill
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Use a videosender - after several attempts using a digisender from Argos, I'm now using a Philips videsender (yes, it came from Curry's) which seems to have better coverage, and beaming pixtures from the ky box around the house. Picture quality is really quite good so long, but there is a world of difference between the 32" Philips 9976 in 1 room and the cheapo 17" lcd in the kitchen, which can't handle contrasts.
     
  3. Scapegoat

    Scapegoat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,628
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +137
    Why not just wire them up via the RF outlet. Local ariel company will do this to multiple TVs in the house (with the necessary boosters) and then buy Sky Eye-links to change channels.
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    22,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,311
    Or even a local aerial co ;)
     
  5. SamRadford

    SamRadford
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,965
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    N. Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +308
    Is it safe to put an LCD screen in a kitchen? I thought they could only be installed where the humidity is low.

    Local "ariel" company eh. Probably right for the kitchen. After all, Ariel is a brand of washing powder. ;)
     
  6. stroppygoblin

    stroppygoblin
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    186
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    LCD's are fine in the kitchen, I have had one with no issues for over a year now. Also many of the large kitchen makers/planners are incorporating drop down lcd's into the design.

    [​IMG]

    Incidently, I am using the RF2 to get the signal around the house. :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...