Sending all AV to another room

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by !TIMMY!, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. !TIMMY!

    !TIMMY!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Peak District
    Ratings:
    +7
    Am I right in thinking that this will work?

    Xbox, WDTV, Sky HD, Blu-ray Player each connected by HDMI to Onkyo AV Receiver.

    Onkyo Receiver connected to a active HDMI splitter.

    HDMI splitter connected to main TV and a 8m HDMI cable (or HDMI over Cat5/6 cable in the future) to other room's TV.

    Then using a Harmony remote and IR sender, I could control everything connected to the Onkyo AV receiver in the other room? E.g. watch netflix on the Xbox, Sky and a Blu-ray in the other room.

    If this is correct, is there an IR sender that can handle all the different signals?
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
  2. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    For that to work audio would have to be output by the av receiver. An HDMI matrix is probably what you need (before av receiver). The cables forum is your best bet.

    IR is IR so any should be able to relay/extend the IR signal.
     
  3. !TIMMY!

    !TIMMY!
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Peak District
    Ratings:
    +7
    Ok, I have just fiddled with the Onkyo, I can output the audio but changes to stereo for both the TV and it's speakers. Just looked at the manual and it doesn't look like it will output anything else.

    What about using a splitter on the Xbox & Sky HD both going into a HDMI switch. Then just the 1 HDMI cable going to the other TV (due to cost ill not bother with the WDTV and Blu-ray)?
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2012
  4. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    A splitter won't work as during the handshake the audio and video capabilities are determined so it will default to the lowest setting. I recommend you visit the cables section and look for threads on matrix devices.
     

Share This Page

Loading...