Self install, Q's

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by s_inman, Sep 6, 2007.

  1. s_inman

    s_inman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +308
    Hi,

    I have decided to get sky hd in my bedroom, I still live with my parents :thumbsdow But they have agreed to let me have it if I pay the extra £20 a month for muiltiroom and HD. I will be buying the box from ebay, but what kind of cables, connections etc will I need from the dish to the box? I already have a quad LNB.

    Thanks in advance :D.
     
  2. Rom

    Rom
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +746
    Search for CT63 or 'shotgun' satellite cable. This is two (thinner) cables 'suck' together. It will go through a hole made for the cable that sky install as as standard.

    I did this and it made installation a breeze.
     
  3. D-an-W

    D-an-W
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +184
    Two lots of coax (Or a dual one) and a phone socket should do you fine...
     
  4. s_inman

    s_inman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +308
    Thanks for the reply, what about m/f connections?
     
  5. s_inman

    s_inman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +308
    Just noticed I need F, :smashin:.
     
  6. tonkie

    tonkie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +897
    Coax cable is not for Satellite
     
  7. D-an-W

    D-an-W
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +184
    What? Of course it is, sure it has a different impedance but it is still coax...
     
  8. tonkie

    tonkie
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Guernsey
    Ratings:
    +897
    If you go into a retailer and ask for coax cable you will just get that, but if you ask for satellite cable you will get a different cable.So for someone who has not got any idea as I think S_inman does not as he is asking for advice on what cable he needs this could be very confusing let alone expensive.


    http://www.satelliteonline.co.uk/cable_large.htm
     
  9. Trollslayer

    Trollslayer
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    26,038
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Poole
    Ratings:
    +10,904
    Satellite frquencies from the LBN are much higher than terrestrial and terrestrial cables has high losses at satellite frequencies.
     
  10. s_inman

    s_inman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +308
    Thanks guys :thumbsup:
     
  11. D-an-W

    D-an-W
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,795
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +184
    Yes, I know...but it is still coax!

    I figured if the OP knew what a Quad LNB was he would know to ask for Satellite Coax when purchasing :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...