1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seleco SVp 400 ht + external line scaler???

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by cole trickle, Nov 9, 2004.

  1. cole trickle

    cole trickle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI, Guys long time reader first time poster

    Can someone pls let me know if i was to add a click here for line scaler to my Seleco SVP 400ht would get any noticeable improvements?

    Click here for product also

    Also what would be the best way to connect it to

    Thanks Inadvance Dale H
     
  2. Vince M

    Vince M
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Lagoa
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is an ESI scaler,you can buy this direct from the Manufacturer on E-Bay u.s. and save yourself a few bob!

    Im guessing that the Upconverter in the 400 only line doubles to 480 & 576p-But Chris Frost knows more about these.

    If correct you could get an improvement going in at 720p via RGB breakout cable from a decent scaler-Dont know how good the ESI is though?

    Another option maybe the Neo Nuo dvd player which outputs at 720p and 1080i AND Its internal scaling is nice!
     
  3. BenC

    BenC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm upgrading my 400HT with a scaler in the next few weeks. I'll let you know what improvements I find.

    Ben.
     
  4. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Dale, your 400 will accept a line doubled signal which means max resolutions of 480p and 576p. With a good external line doubler the image on your projector will be sharper with better edge definition and smoother pans thanks to 3:2 and 2:2 pull down.

    The next important choice for you is how you want to handle Aspect Ratio Control (ARC). This depends on your screen format. If it's a 4:3 screen then you should stick with a basic line doubler and use the Seleco to switch from 4:3 to 16:9 aspect ratios. If you have a 16:9 screen then read on.

    IMO, Seleco 400 series projectors look their best when set to 16:9 ratio and the external doubler/scaler does ARC. Line structure disappears and image brightness improves a little bit because the scan lines are closer together. This is where scalers have an advantage over most line doublers.

    A good scaler will accept 4:3 and Letterbox image formats and process the signal so that the projector sees it like a 16:9 Anamorphic format. The immediate benefit is less line structure with Letterbox films. 4:3 format images are resized like you used the Small aspect ratio on the projector, but you save time at set-up because you don't need to converge another memory bank. You set up just two memory banks - Wide for Pal and NTSC.

    Installation - you can go two ways. The conventional route is to put the scaler/doubler with your rack of equipment and run a long high quality Data cable to the projector. The existing video cables to the projector become redundant.

    The alternative is to put the scaler up near the projector and use a short Data cable. With this idea you still use the existing cables from the sources to the scaler. This solution only works if you have the space to mount the scaler near the projector and the scaler can be controlled remotely or has some form of auto signal detection.

    Good luck
     
  5. cole trickle

    cole trickle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    THanks Chris, and everybody else for the info,

    I'll let you know how it works out

    Cheers Dale
     
  6. Vince M

    Vince M
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Lagoa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chris ,
    Does the 400 not accept 720p through RGB then?
     
  7. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Hi Vince, the 4xx series and 500 models all top out at 576p. In theory 1080i should be OK but I've never had chance to try it.

    In PC terms 640x480 is OK, 800x600 @ 60Hz is a no go. I never had an opportunity to try 720p @ 50Hz, but I am certain that 720p running at 60Hz is a definate no no.

    Regards

    Chris
     
  8. Vince M

    Vince M
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Lagoa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright Chris!

    Yeah I reckon it must be able to do 1080i then via RGB-way good enough! :)
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    Actually I think 1080i is likely to be a problem compared to 576p. Even although the amount of lines is less with 1080I you have the problem with the timings of when to write the lines and when not to.

    The ablity to scan back to beggining of line and start drawing is harder with 1080I timings compared to 576p. It's pretty extreme. That's wHy so many HD crt TV's in USA overscan huge amounts of picture info with 1080I . They just can't resolve all the info...........................................

    Gordon
     
  10. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Ah yes, of course. Twice as many scan passes in the same time frame. Thanks G.

    Regards

    Chris
     
  11. Vince M

    Vince M
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Lagoa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could be -be interesting to see on the 400?
     
  12. Vince M

    Vince M
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Lagoa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone got a 400 and using D-Theatre?
     
  13. BenC

    BenC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Just installed an iScan Pro on my SVP-400. To my eyes it's a massive jump. It's as though there's a bucket more detail in the picture, and the problems I was having with weird skin tones is now fixed.

    Definitely get one!
     
  14. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Told you so :thumbsup:

    For others here, see BenC's original post

    Regards

    Chris
     

Share This Page

Loading...