1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Seleco High Bright Super digital Set up problems

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by snook80, Jun 16, 2005.

  1. snook80

    snook80
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    I have a Seleco High Bright Super Digital Ceiling moumted projector.

    I bought this for use in a club but never used it.

    I havn't a clue how to set the channels or anything.

    It's not for the lack of trying to find a manual for it.

    Another problem cannot find remote but have set up another to switch it on and off.

    If anyone can help please remember I am not a tv engineer and normally I have to get the grnad children to set video.
     
  2. gazzzman

    gazzzman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there!
    I think you have a svt150 there ;-)
    with the flaps off the back and by the convergence controls (above them )
    you should see the model and serial number
    general setup I could probably talk you through and I will be able to find a manual for it
    just let me know what you need to know ;-)
    cheerz
    gazzzman
     
  3. Mad Mr H

    Mad Mr H
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    4,430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +280
    Not sure......

    Could be a seleco svt 190 - this has a white case, the 150 usually a darker case.

    the 150 will have convergance controls on the rear of the unit, the 190 does not - they are done from the remote......

    There are 2 remotes for the 190 a "normal user" remote and a "set up" remote.

    back right hand side (I think) has a sticker with model number on it
    Need to start there.

    Does it say "digital convergance" on the back left hand top smoked panel?
    (I just went and looked at one we have for repair!)

    Best of luck.....
     
  4. gazzzman

    gazzzman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there!
    you enjoy fixing your 190 ;-)
    my least fav seleco!
    if you have problems give me a shout (about 80% of the problems this machine suffers are related to th sony tubes it uses)
    cheerz
    gazzzman
     
  5. snook80

    snook80
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    Thank you all for your replies.

    It is a Seleco SVT 180.

    I managed to get 2 channels (dont know how).

    But I could not store them.

    Also without manual don't know if I have correct remote, I could adjust sound on TV but not with remote.

    Remote changes channels and switches it on & off.

    Also one more problem the picture is the wrong way round.

    I don't mean upside down but backwards like looking in a miiror.

    All the best.

    snook80
     
  6. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    From memory a Seleco SVT180 is a SVT150 but with the brighter non-smoke proof Sony tubes rather than the more robust Toshibas used in the 150. Set up is the same at the 150.

    There's a free download available of the SVT150 manual courtesy of forum member Zneo vbmenu_register("postmenu_1705552", true); :thumbsup: top bloke.

    Most of the other answers you need have already been posted elsewhere in other threads. Have a look at the Search this Forum option, it's located on the top right of the main page for the CRT Projectors Forum.

    Good luck
     
  7. gazzzman

    gazzzman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all!
    as usual (so I am told :) ) chris is right! the 150 owes most of its electronics to the 150 though there are differences (digi board tube bases and protection circuitry)
    the setup is just about identical
    tuning: if you have the right handset.. press p/c put in the channel number (ie 59 for itv winter hill) then press and hold the two buttons with the (m) above them :smashin:
    channel tuned.. if I remember 0=av1 00=av2 27=s-video 29=rf vcr channel ;-)
    if you cant find a handset let me know and if you get stuck.. give me a shout :)
    cheerz
    gazzzman!
     
  8. snook80

    snook80
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    Thanks for the other two replies.

    I have set it up to the scart socket and change channels on my sky digibox.

    I will not bother trying to sort out the set up until i can get picture sorted.

    As I said it's back to front (like looking in a mirror) is there a fix for this?.

    Thnks again.

    Snook 80
     
  9. gazzzman

    gazzzman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :) hi all!
    in the 180 the raster reverse consists of little black plugs on the right hand board looking from the rear (make sure the projector is off before changing :) )
    in the situation you are in (reverse)they look like = ie they are both horizontal :) if you unplug them and re insert them so that they look like 11 ie vertical that is the only change you need to make :clap:
    they are usually labled a + a1
    hipe this hellps :D mail me if you have any problems!
    gazzzman
     
  10. snook80

    snook80
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    Thanks for your reply but cannot find anything like that on rear of projector.

    There are a lot of small holes with markings by them.

    four switches to the left 3 say "CRT ENABLE" 1 says "TEST PATTERN".

    All the Best.

    Snook 80
     
  11. Chris Frost

    Chris Frost
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,755
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +108
    Snook80, what Gazzzman is saying these connectors are inside the projector. You need to take the lid off to get to them.

    If you want to set up any Seleco CRT projector properly you need to open the case and make some adjustments internally to the lenses. At the very minimum the lenses need focusing, and it's usual for the red and blue lenses to need toe-ing in before you start converging. This might seem a little daunting at first but its all pretty straight forward.

    You might be tempted to try and skip these steps, but please believe me when I say that that would be a mistake. The projector will give you a much better image and you'll find it is a lot easier to converge if you get the lenses adjusted properly first. :thumbsup:

    Regards
     
  12. gazzzman

    gazzzman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all!
    qhat chris says is totaly bob on! to repeat NOT GETTING THE MECHANICAL SETTINGS CORRECT DURING INITIAL INSTALATION WILL SHORTEN THE LIFE OF YOUR CRT PROJECTOR!!
    to put it another way...
    seleco 400 converged correctly temp of convergence heatsink 33c
    seleco 400 set with h+v centers ofset by 50% heatsink temp now 107c +climbing!!!
    get the mechanics right
    distance
    centering
    mechanical convergence of the lenses (making sure the convergence presets are central first)
    converge!
    enjoy a long and happy CRT life!
     
  13. snook80

    snook80
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    Thanks to Chris & Gazzzman for their replies. I have not been on the net for a few weeks as I changed my I.S.P.

    Any way I could not find the switch/adjuster inside so I have taken some photos.

    Perhaps if you point me in the right direction I could take a more detailed photo of the area where this adjuster is.

    Once I get rid of the mirrored picture I will the do the adjustments as you suggested earlier.

    Thanks again.

    Snook80.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. gazzzman

    gazzzman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there!
    that does NOT look like a 180?
    looks like a 190/195 the changeover is different on those!
    I will have a check on the manual on thursday!
    why do you think it is a 180?
    (knowing seleco of course... it could be an "interim model" :D )
    if it is a 180 could you pm me the serial and I will try and find out exactly what it is :)
    cheers
    gazzzman
     
  15. snook80

    snook80
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.

    Thanks for your latest reply, here are all the numbers listed on back:

    Mod: SVT 180
    COD. TEL T54376000
    COD. COM 003331200
    TELAIO/CHASSIS BS 950
    SER NUM. 9307128981

    All the best Snook80
     
  16. Boy Lex

    Boy Lex
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...