seleco 350. . I think I killed it this time

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by JonnyP, Mar 20, 2006.

1. JonnyP

JonnyP

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im pretty new to CRT projectors, and I think I've just done something a little stupid...

Basically I bought a Seleco 350 off eBay a little while ago, and have had problems all the way, ranging from silly (couldn't find the jacks to switch to flip it from ceiling to desktop installation) to annoying (software version 2.01, had two hours of run time before it died and I had to get hold of v2.13). But this time its entirely my fault.

this time it kept flickering a lot (even the menues) as if it was being shaken, I found a thread describing exactly the same problem, the first suggestion was cleaning the boards and contacts, the second to get the sync processor board looked at, I opted for cleaning the boards, which I did and It worked :thumbsup: go me, unfortunately when returning to put all the casing back on I couldn't quite work out how the hell the big metal plate marked 'DANGER HIGH VOLTAGE' fitted in, I kinda jiggled it around until it seemed to be in some sort of position... alas when I turned the projector there was a pop noise, and I saw a spark just between the green and red CRT lenses. I think in my slap dash aproach to trying to make the plate fit I must have shorted something, however I can't see what shorted ( I can only see heatsinks which the plate could have touched, and as yet haven't found any burn marks). There wasn't a very nice smell from the switch/plug area of the inside afterwards, I'm not sure if its linked. Nothing happens now when I switch the power switch.

Please tell me I've only blown an internal fuse, or at least something easily repareable/replaceable.